FanPost

RR Minor League Project: Idaho Falls Chukers Pitching Staff

The 17 member Chuker's staff consists of a little bit of everything.  They have a rehabbing AAA pitcher and a highly rated prospect coming off an injury.  Add to that four 2008 draftees, three players up from the 2007 AZL team, and 8 non drafted free agents. The staff is made up of 9 righthanders and 8 lefties for an even balance.  Here is an alphabetical listing and a short description of each player.  As with any short season staff, we have to let the season play out to really see what sort of talent we have.

Carver, Jesse P LHP  L/L  6-0  183  Sr.  1L  Starkville, MS (Starkville HS)  Mississippi State U.undrafted free agent

 Bryan W Casey Born: 06/05/1986 Birthplace: Yuma, AZ College: Arizona Western College Height: 6' 1" Weight: 200 Bats: R Throws: R  started opening night...1 1 0 0 0 4.0 3 0 0 0 1 4 1.00 .200 undrafted free agent

Cota, Luis P   injury prone prospect. Tabbed as the Royals seventh-best prospect by Baseball America entering the 2005 season...Named Royals Minor League and Burlington Pitcher of the Year after compiling a 5-8 record and a 4.01 ERA in 26 starts for Burlington (A)...allowed just 143 hits in 148.0 innings, walking 63 and striking out 137 batters, good for fifth in the Midwest League and second among all Royals minor leaguers....Named to the Midwest League mid-season All-Star team.  Went 2-1 with a 5.81 ERA for Idaho Falls (R) in his first season of professional baseball in 2004...appeared in 14 games (12 starts) for the Chukars, allowing 61 hits in 48.0 innings...he walked 21 and struck out 40.
hasn't pitched since 2006.

John Foster.  The Kansas City Royals have assigned left-handed pitcher John Foster to Idaho Falls for a rehab start. Foster injured his right bicep earlier this year and will look to work his way back to the Royals' AAA team in Omaha and then hopefully on to Kansas City. Foster was drafted in 1999 by the Atlanta Braves and first appeared in the Majors in 2002. He has appeared in 90 big league games in his career, all in relief. Lewis-Clark State College in Idaho is where Foster attended school before turning pro. He helped the Warriors win a National Championship in 1999.

Garcia, Justin P ...Justin Garcia Born: 10/19/1984 Birthplace: Violet, LA Height: 6' 0" Weight: 185 Bats: R Throws: R undrafted free agent 

Gilgenbach, Stephen P
Wisconsin-Parkside  (drafted 47th round) Born: 02/12/1986  Birthplace: Fond du Lac, WI College:Wisconsin-Parkside   Height: 6' 2" Weight: 215 Bats: L Throws: L

Hardy, Blaine P........ (drafted in the 22nd round) Born: 03/14/1987 Birthplace: Shoreline, WA College: Lewis-Clark State Col Height: 6' 2" Weight: 195 Bats: L Throws: L pitched in relief on opening night 4.50 1 0 0 0 0 2.0 4 1 1 0 0 0 1.00 .500  yet another Hardy to cheer for.... 

Hodgson, Ivor P AZ league... Born: 04/25/1986 Birthplace: Emmitsburg, MD College: Mount St Mary's Col Height: 6' 3" Weight: 190 Bats: S Throws: L
AZ league 1 1 5.29 14 0 0 0 0 32.1 45 24 19 1 1 15 36 1.86 1 2 brief stint with IDF.

 Steven Michael Miller Born: 03/23/1986 Birthplace: Houston, TX Height: 6' 2" Weight: 220 Bats: R Throws: R undrafted free agent

Morgan, Ryan  (drafted in the 26th round) Morgan elected to forgo his senior year at Rockhurst College after being taken in the draft. Born: 01/29/1987 Birthplace: St. Louis, MO College: Rockhurst Col Height: 6' 1" Weight: 190 Bats: R Throws: R

Novakowski, Gary Height / Weight:6-4 / 215 RHP 06/15/1985 2007: Named America East Pitcher of the Year and a first-team All-conference selection ... selected as honorable mention All-American by PingBaseball.com ... went 5-2 with 4.28 ERA in 67.1 innings of work ... made 10 starts with four complete games ... undrafted free agent


Rada, Orlando P
Orlando Rada. Bats: Left, Throws: Left Height: 5'11", Weight: 165 lbsBirthplace: Higuerote, Venezuela Born: December 20, 1985 ... Level Totals Rk P 10 2 3 0 0 1.000 0.50 ... up from AZL  pitched in relief on opening day picking up the loss...6.00 1 0 0 0 0 3.0 5 2 2 0 2 4 2.00 .455 
 
Raglione, Paul PPaul Raglione - up from AZL.  Birthdate:1/15/1987 Bats/Throws:R/R Height/Weight:6-5/220    AZL... W L ERA G GS CG ShO SV BS IP TBF H R ER HR BB IBB HBP WP BK SO
2006 Royals (R) 3 0 3.11 10 7 0 0 2   46.1   53 27 16 1 10   4   

Saito, Derrick P  (drafted in the 16th round) Born: 12/26/1987 Birthplace: Wailuku, HI College: Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Height: 5' 9" Weight: 155 Bats: L Throws: L

Thompson, James R (drafted in the 38th round) Born: 08/15/1987 Birthplace: Westpoint, GA College: Columbus State Height: 6' 3"Weight: 195 Bats: R Throws: R

Torbio, Aneidy T, Born: 05/21/1988 Birthplace: Santiago, Dominican Republic Height: 6' 1" Weight: 172 Bats: L Throws: L  undrafted free agent

GO CHUKERS......


 

 

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker