2010 Top 20 Royals Prospects

2010 Top 20 Royals Prospects

Anyone can give you a prospect list for upcoming 2009 season-but who is willing to go out on a limb and give you a 2010 prospect list?  Well, in these dire times, I am willing to put my predictive powers to the test and let you know definitively who our top prospects will be next year and how they did in 2009.  I'm using this as a tool to talk about what I expect from our prospects this year and who some of the big movers could be.  If this list goes well, I may also venture into stock tips next year.

1. Eric Hosmer 1B 10/24/1989 B-T: L-L

The #3 overall pick and receiver of the largest draft bonus in Royals history, Hosmer's bat was called one of the best HS bats in the past 20 years.  The Hoz wreaked havoc in the Midwest league for 3 months.  He hit 311/382/538 and was leading the Midwest league in homeruns with 20 when he was promoted to Wilmington in the middle of July.  He hit 273/342/471 in 145 at-bats there.  He hit well in the playoffs as Wilmington won the Carolina League championship.  Hosmer looks like one of the most complete hitters in the minors and should hit for a high average and huge power.  His arm may be wasted at 1B but the Royals are looking to expedite his path to the big leagues.  They could challenge him with an assignment to NW Arkansas in 2010. 

 

 

2. Mike Moustakas 3B 9/11/1988 B-T: L-R

Depending on the day you ask, you will get different answers from me about who is the Royals Top Prospect.  While I gave Hosmer the nod, Moustakas has more defensive value and should help sooner.  Moustakas started off slow again (but nearly as bad as 2008), this time in Wilmington, playing for the Blue Rocks hitting 245/320/400 in April.  He caught fire from then on and finished with a line of 290/370/490.  He has played good defense which will present a good problem to have when is ready to challenge Alex Gordon at the big league level.  He could have moved up AA towards the end of the year but the Royals' brass wanted to give him and Hosmer to play together.  Moustakas will start next year at AA with a promotion to AAA later in the year.  The Royals don't like players to skip levels and are mindful of their last young 3rd base prospect who skipped AAA and his growing pains.


3. Kentrail Davis CF  6/29/1988 B-T: L-R

The Royals took Davis with the 12th overall pick in the 2009 draft.  As a draft eligible sophomore and Scott Boras client, he had more leverage than your normal college player.  Davis made the Royals 4th straight 1st round Boras pick.  The Royals actually signed him early-there were a couple of hours left until the deadline on August 15th.  He went to Low-A Burlington where he hit 306/367/489 in 62 at bats.  Davis' bat is special as he should hit for a high average, good power and draw an above average number of walks.  He defense is CF is not great but the Royals hope to work with him there and his arm is a tick below average. Being 5' 9" and a CF who can hit, one can't help but draw Kirby Puckett comparisons.   He should start next year at Wilmington.

 

4. Daniel Gutierrez SP 3/8/1987 B-T: R-R

Danny Gutierrez showed why the Royals have been so excited about him.  He started at Wilmington and had a 2.59 ERA in 74 innings with 92 Ks and 21 walks.  He was promoted to NW Arkansas and had 3.13 ERA in 52 innings with 55k and 9 walks.  He has always had a great fastball/curveball but his changeup improved this year.  He could have an outside shot of being with the big club in 2010 but will probably get some more seasoning in Omaha.  He has a shot at being a #2 starter for the big club at some point.

5. Kelvin Herrera SP 12/31/1989 B-T: R-R

19 year olds who pitch in full season ball, have outstanding stuff and command of it are a rare thing.  Kelvin exploded this season going to Burlington, Iowa and posting a 2.38 ERA in 92 IP with a WHIP of 1.02, 98K's and 21 walks.  He has a low-mid 90s fastball with a good change up.  He tightened up his curveball this year but it is the thing he will need to work on in the future.  Herrera is 5' 10" so his stuff may not get much better but it is already plenty good.  He knows how to pitch and trusts his stuff.  The last time the Royals had a pitcher who was this polished/this young his name was Greinke. 

6. Mike Montgomery SP 7/1/1989 B-T: L-L

Mike Montgomery had a great first full season in Burlington.  He posted 2.84 ERA in 124 innings with 119 K's and an excellent amount of groundballs.  He has started to put some weight on his frame and increased velocity into the low 90s last year.  He already has a good changeup that could become very good.  I am a big fan of young pitchers with good changeups.  The question is whether his palm ball which functions as a curveball will be effective against more advance hitters.  Hard throwing lefties who get ground balls and have good control are a very good thing and Montgomery will pitch in Wilmington in 2010.

7. Dan Duffy SP 12/21/1988 B-T: L-L

Dan Duffy, after an amazing 2008 in Burlington followed it up with a very good campaign with an uber-talented Wilmington ballclub.  He posted a 3.45 ERA in 117 innings for Wilmington with a 1.21 WHIP and 124 K's.  He's got a good fastball and a good changeup and a curveball that is improving.  If he can consistently command all three pitches, he will have a chance to be an excellent pitcher.  He'll turn 21 at the end of 09, so he still has plenty of time to learn his craft.   

8. Tim Melville SP 10/9/1989 B-T: R-R

Melville went into his senior year at HS rated the #1 prep player in the country by Baseball America.  He had an inconsistent senior year but his stuff improved by the end of the season.  He was looked at as a mid-1st round pick.  But he told teams that he was committed to college-except for one team apparently.  The Royals took him in the 4th round in 2008 and it was soon an open secret that he would sign for as the August 15th deadline approached-which he did for $1.25 million.  Melville stayed in extended spring training but finally appeared in Low-A in June.  He had an 3.88 ERA in 68ip with a 1.28 WHIP, 71 Ks and 31 walks.  His fastball is a plus pitch and he has a good curveball and an inconsistent changeup.  He could be an above average starter and should get more innings next year in Wilmington.   

9. Dan Cortes SP/RP 3/4/1987 B-T: R-R

Cortes came into the year as one of the Royals best prospects but struggled with being ineffective and injured this year.  He went back to AA as a starter and had an 4.41 ERA in 41ip before straining a hamstring and missing 6 weeks.  The Royals were careful with him as they brought him back, allowing him to pitch in relief where he was quite effective-posting a 2.67 ERA in 17 IP back at NW Arkansas and Omaha.  It is unclear whether the move to the bullpen is permanent.  If the Royals want to keep Cortes as a starter, they will probably give him some more time at Omaha.  If they like him as a reliever, he could break camp with the Royals in the spring of 2010.

10. Johnny Giavotella 2B 7/10/1987 B-T:R-R

Johnny Giavotella  is bringing the world together-scouts and sabermatricians alike love this kid.  The scouts love him, not for his classic baseball build, but he is an old time ballplayer-a scrapper, full of (dare I say it): grit.  Stats minded folks love his results: a middle infielder who can hit, draw a walk and doesn't kill you with the glove.  In Wilmington this year he hit 304/366/440 with 19 steals and getting caught 7 times.  He looks like an ideal #2 hitter and will start 2010 in NW Arkansas but could get promoted in mid-year.

11. Jeff Bianchi--offensive minded SS

12. Salvador Perez C-young catcher with offensive potential

13. John Lamb LHP-08 draftee who recovered from injury to show potential

14. Blake Wood RHP-inconsistent starter who could be above average starter

15. Derrick Robinson CF-fast CF whose bat is making incremental steps forward

16. Keaton Hayenga RHP-another high ceiling pitcher who is recovered from injury

17. Joe Dickerson CF/LF-David Dejesus lite

18. Tyler Sample RHP-great stuff, Royals are reworking his delivery

19. Guelin Beltre. SS-Latin American middle infielder

20. Carlos Fortuna RHP-good stuff, young

 

Recap:

After the 2009 season, the Royals have one of the top 5 farm systems in baseball.  Better scouting, more money and more involvement in Latin America all have helped build up the system.  Staring in 2010 the Royals should start seeing the fruit of a rebuilt minor league system as they challenge in a competitive American League Central.  Hopefully the days of getting a top 5 pick every year are gone--to continue to pump talent into the system, the Royals are going to have to be creative with their signings in the draft and the international market.  We are seeing the prospect list populated with some later round draft choices who are panning out and that is a big step for a system that used to be very top heavy.    Let me know where you think my crystal ball is fuzzy and if there is anyone I've overlooked.

 

 

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker