FanPost

RCI Results - April 2010

 

I'm not going to sugarcoat this.  The confidence of the Royals fanbase is at its lowest level in recorded history* (* - the recorded history of the RCI goes back two years).  During the Dayton Moore era, fans have typically been somewhat optimistic going into the season, only to have their hopes violently dashed on the jagged rocks of reality.  Not so this season.  Compare these preseason RCI's:


March 2008

6.99

April 2009

6.34

April 2010

4.17

The RCI has descended to a lowly 4.17.  We're not optimistic and we're not happy.  Compare the current RCI to the last recorded number back in May 2009.  After a good first month, we were feeling pretty positive back then.

May 2009

April 2010

Team

7.3

3.9

Starting Pitching

8.0*

6.0

Relief Pitching

 

4.6

Hitting

6.1

3.0

Defense

5.7

4.2

Trey Hillman

6.6

2.7

Dayton Moore

5.3

3.1

Minors

6.7

6.6

Future

7.7

5.0

* - number indicates a rating for pitching in general

The numbers are down across the board.  Most of them are way down.  The RCI for the team has been nearly halved.  We were once fairly happy about the pitching and hitting.  Not anymore.  A once promising future is now seriously in doubt.  What a difference 11 months make.

But the biggest turn around has been in the support for Dayton Moore and Trey Hillman.  Cautious optimism and the benefit of the doubt have been replaced by contempt and ridicule.  You can't say it hasn't been well earned.  Compare their favorability ratings:

May 2009

April 2010

Dayton Moore

Strongly approve

20.2%

91.0%

3.6%

5.5%

Somewhat approve

70.8%

1.8%

Somewhat disapprove

5.4%

6.6%

24.5%

94.5%

Strongly disapprove

1.2%

70.0%

Don't know/No answer

2.4%

0.0%

Trey Hillman

Strongly approve

2.4%

43.8%

0.0%

3.6%

Somewhat approve

41.4%

3.6%

Somewhat disapprove

44.3%

51.4%

50.9%

94.5%

Strongly disapprove

7.1%

43.6%

Don't know/No answer

4.8%

1.8%

Total approval ratings of 5.5% for Moore and 3.6% for Hillman.  Jimmy Carter and George W. Bush laugh at those numbers.  Moore's approval rating dropped from 91% to 5.5% in eleven months.  A politician would have to rape a panda to make that happen.  I guess this is what happens when an awful offseason doesn't pan out, and then you add a horrendous midseason trade, followed by another crappy offseason.  Honeymoon, over.

There has been a similar shift in the right track/wrong direction numbers:

May 2009

April 2010

Going in the right direction

97.6%

18.5%

On the wrong track

2.4%

72.2%

Don't know/no answer

0.0%

9.3%

The prevailing sentiment is that the ship is sinking, if it was ever afloat.  And now, the rest of your RCI answers.

D.  When do you think Trey Hillman will be fired?

1. During the 2010 season - 14%

2. This coming offseason - 42%

3. During the 2011 season - 21%

4. In the offseason after the 2011 season - 16%

5. Sometime after the start of the 2012 season - 2%

6. He won’t be fired for several years.  He’s going to get a multi-year contract extension. - 5%

E.  How many games do you think Zack Greinke will win this year?

16.6

F.  Which team is going to win the AL Central this year?

Minnesota 70%

Chicago 16%

Detroit 9%

Kansas City 4%

Cleveland 2 %

G. How many games will the following players play for the Royals this season?

Jason Kendall - 116

Yuniesky Betancourt - 85

Mike Aviles - 107

Alberto Callaspo - 121

H. Who will make the fifth highest number of pitching starts for the Royals this year (assuming that 1-4 are Greinke, Meche, Bannister and Hochevar)?

Kyle Davies 64%

Aaron Crow 15%

Robinson Tejeda 13%

Kyle Farnsworth 4%

Jarrod Washburn 2%

Other 2%

I.  What kind of a chance do the Royals have of making the playoffs this year?  (give a percentage: 0%-100%)

6.5%

J.  What is your best estimate of how many games the Royals will win in 2010?

70.6

And then hopefully something to make us smile

P1010086a_medium

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker