Royals Review Prospect Pulse: June



After an extremely successful first 6 weeks of the season, the month of May ended on an ominous note in the Royals' minor league system.  Injuries to Moose and Monty coupled with struggles from Hoz and Crow have left some question marks that will hopefully be answered in June.  Of course, June is also a big month because this list will probably look a lot different after the draft and after short-season ball starts in the middle of the month.

There were some success stories in May: John Lamb had a great month and got promoted to Wilmington.  Wil Myers tore apart the Midwest league--very tough for a teenager to do.  Salvador Perez turned 20 while performing well in the Carolina League.  Perez and Myers give the Royals some depth in the minors at catcher.  And there may be one more piece of promising news:  over at the Scout Royals board, there are rumors that there will be Dan Duffy news in the next few days.  I don't normally give message board rumors much credence but the poster this is coming from consistently has info before the regular public does.

As always starts are for hitters: avg--obp--slg and for pitchers: K/9---BB/9--FIP ERA
Rank Name Last Month May Stats YTD Comment
1 Mike Moustakas--3B--AA 5 393/486/775 374/459/764 Huge May vaults him to top spot.
2 Mike Montgomery--LHP--AA 1 7.4/3.0/3.27

AA

7.4/3.03.27

HighA

11.9/1.7/1.34

Everyone hold's their breath that his arm is OK.
3 Eric Hosmer--1B--HighA 2 301/355/434 349/416/508 Cooled down toward the end of May
4 Wil Myers--C--LowA 4 330/459/500 282/383/471 Incredible numbers for a 19 year old in Midwest League.
5 Aaron Crow--RHP--AA 3 4.9/4.1/4.77 5.0/3.6/5.06 Needs to turn it on and stay consistent
6 John Lamb--LHP--LowA 6

LowA

9.0/1.5/2.75

HighA

8.8/2.2/2.28

LowA

9.6/3.8/3.31

HighA

8.8/2.2/2.28

Following the Mike Montgomery path to top prospect status.
7 Noel Arguelles--LHP--DL 7 NA NA We are all wondering if he really exists.
8 Tim Melville--RHP--HighA 8 7.6/2.3/3.30 7.9/3.9/3.88 Has been better of late and I still think he's a quality prospect..  His FIP is a lot lower than his ERA.
9 Kila Kaaihue--1B--AAA 10 378/576/711 333/500/650 reason #203 to bring him up: I'm running out of compliments for him.

10

Derrick Robinson--CF--AA 11 286/374/339 302/394/390 Slumped at beginning of month but turned it back around the past couple of weeks.
11 Chris Dwyer--LHP--HighA 14 7.9/3.1/3.50 8.3/4.2/3.87 Has steadily improved over the first couple of months.
12 David Lough--CF--AAA 13 291/320/470 274/307/418 Followed a tough April with a better May.
13 Johnny Giavotella--2B--AA 12 250/296/336 279/350/358 Had a tough May after a good April.
14 Salvador Perez--C--HighA 27 292/33/514 289/328/446 Good defensive catcher performing well at HighA while being one of the youngest players in league. 
15 Kelvin Herrera--RHP--LowA 9 5.8/0.6/3.39 8.4/3.2/3.32 Went on DL--continues to battle injury--but has a great arm.  Some wonder if he will have to move to bullpen.
16 Tyler Sample--RHP--LowA 16 7.1/5.7/4.26 7.1/6.6/4.40 Another great arm who is struggling to put it together but has pitched better of late.
17 Jordan Parraz--RF--AAA 17 353/500/506 259/374/395 His May was as good as his April was bad.
18 Luis Coleman--RHP--AA 20 9.3/2.1/2.53 8.0/2.6/3.64 Advanced arm you could see in KC this summer perhaps.
19 Patrick Keating--RHP--HighA 25 13.2/1.1/0.93 13.1/2.3/2.29 Destroying High A, needs the challenge of AA. 
20 Tim Smith--OF--AA 26 305/380/500 309/380/495 This kid can hit, need to stay healthy.  Feeling better about the Gutierrez trade.
21 Cheslor Cuthbert--3B--EXST 22 NA NA Hopefully our big international signing from last year will be in action this month.
22 Yowil Espinal--SS--EXST 23 NA NA Toolsy SS, I'm guessing he will play in Idaho Falls
23 Carlos Fortuna--RHP--EXST 21 NA NA Young arm with good upside.
24 Edgar Osuna--LHP--AA 28 4.5/1.4/3.56 5.8/1.2/3.59 The stuff doesn't impress me but the numbers do
25 Jai Miller--CF--AAA NR 247/340/494 223/307/397 An underrated pickup, this kid could actually be useful--with good defense and a bat that doesn't hurt you.
26 Manual Pina--C--AA 24 246/316/362 262/343/410 Just like last year, great first month but then started struggling--but was also a little unlucky
27 Dan Duffy--LHP--? 15 NA NA He will keep dropping every month nothing happens.
28 Mario Santiago--RHP--AA 32 4.2/3.3/4.41 4.9/3.0/3.73 Needs more K's as he is doing so-so at AA.
29 Rey Navarro--SS--HighA 18 198/223/253 198/223/253 Unlucky but still not very good numbers.
30 Blaine Hardy--RHP--AAA 35

AA

6.4/2.0/3.60

AAA

3.0/0.0/3.00

AA

5.3/2.6/3.13

AAA

3.0/0.0/3.00

He got promoted to AAA but wasn't the best reliever on his AA team--but he is still worth keeping an eye on.
31 Buddy Baumann--RHP--HighA 33
7.9/4.5/3.25 10.2/4.7/2.67 K rate dropped off in May--so his numbers were OK this month but not great.
32 Brandon Sisk--LHP--AA 31 5.6/2.6/3.59 6.8/3.3/4.29 One of a hoard of bullpen arms in the Royals system
33 Clint Robinson--1B--AA 29 246/331/439 257/360/437 Still doing OK at AA but being overshadowed by mega-talented teammates.
34 Chris Hayes--RHP--AAA 30 3.0/1.5/5.66 1.6/0.8/4.75 Hasn't found his groove yet.
35 Crawford Simmons--LHP--EXST 38 NA NA Talented left-hander drafted last year should finally throw his first pro pitch this month
36 Dusty Odenbach--RHP--LowA NR 8.6/5.7/3.53 9.7/4.7/3.42 Draftee from last year given chance to start in his final outing of the month--not sure if that was a one time thing or not.
37 Greg Holland--RHP--AAA 41 4.4/3.8.4.85 6.2/2.9/3.73 Has had decent numbers in past but scuffling a little this year.
38 Paulo Orlando--CF--AA
NR 400/426/631 304/348/448 Had a great May but I'm not sold.
39 Alex Llanos--CF--EXST 42 NA NA Part of the Royals collection of CFers with speed and questionable bats.
40 Jeff Bianchi--SS--DL 40 NA NA recovering from TJ surgery
41 Alex Caldera--RHP--HighA NR 8.5/1.4/3.79 8.8/2.0/3.37 Has put up pretty good numbers, I don't know much about his stuff.
42 Keaton Hayenga--RHP--LowA 39 4.39/3.1/4.6 4.39/3.1/4.6 Rough LowA debut--although his FIP isn't nearly as bad.  His stuff has yet to really translate.
43 Shin Jo Ho
NR NA NA Very intrigued to see what the young catcher does in pro ball
44 Irving Falu--SS--AAA
NR
328/366/379 307/355/356 Utility guy that might be a 25th man on a roster
45 Carlos Testa--OF--LowA NR 269/343/495 266/360/474 2008 draftee has put up good numbers but 23 is way old for midwest league.
46 Jarrod Dyson--CF--DL 49 NA NA Still hurt.
47 Bryan Paukovits--LHP--LowA NR 10.4/2.8/3.65 10.1/3.0/3.18 a little old for league but is supposed to have some decent stuff.
48 Hilton Richardson--CF--LowA 37 176/235/341 195/250/356 Lots of tools but no performance.
49 Jason Taylor--3B--HighA 43 111/142/111 191/228/319

Has been hurt but had 27 horrib

le ABs in May

50 Jerico Blanco--OF--EXST NR NA NA I like this international signee from 2 years ago and am hopeful to see what he does in the Arizona League.

 

Player of the Month: Mike Moustakas

All Moose did this month was change perceptions from him being first round bust to one of the top power hitting prospects in the game.  His power is huge and he has increased his batting average thanks to more line drives, fewer K's, and some luck on BABIP.  His walk rate has increased but most of that is due to intentional walks.  I haven't heard much about his defense this year but it has always graded out as excellent according to Total Zone.  I think the Royals would like to keep him in AA all this year and bring Hosmer up to AA and have the most talented team in the minors but Moose might force their hand.  He could certainly be ready for the big show by the start of 2011 but I'm greedy and wouldn't mind pushing his FA clock back a year by waiting until the beginning of June 2011.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker