Following the Royals Top Prospects: 5/6-5/12

"You really think I'm scared about putting too many runners on base? You amuse me."

I decided to not add Bianchi to this list, at least not right now. He is only hitting .255 with a .288 OBP, and he will have to hit a lot better than that to have any future with this organization. It is interesting that Bianchi is playing the majority of his games at 2B, and Colon is playing the majority at SS.

For some reason, Everett Teaford is not starting anymore. I'm not sure why, he pitched well in his only two starts this season. The lefty is pitching well out of the bullpen, which might mean the Royals want him to pitch out of the bullpen for a potential call-up. It would be nice to have more than one left-handed pitcher in our pen.

Triple Slash: Batters (BA/OBP/SLG) Pitchers (ERA/FIP/GO:AO)

Triple-A: The Storm Chasers went 3-4 this week, splitting a series against Oklahoma City but losing 2 of 3 so far against the Reno Aces. Omaha will looks to salvage a split tonight with Duffy on the mound.

Mike Moustakas (.256/.338/.448) - Moose had seven hits this week, and his numbers are slowly continuing to rise. The third-basemen smacked two home runs and has not struck out in his past six games. He has also drawn three walks in that span.

Mike Montgomery (2.85/3.96/1.45) - Montgomery had an average start this week, giving up three runs on six hits in five innings. Monty gave up one homer and walked two batters, but did strikeout six. Montgomery has put a lot of runners on this season, be it with walks or hits, but has forced a lot of ground balls and strikeouts to limit the amount of runs he has given up.

Danny Duffy (2.25/2.51/0.79) - Duffy pitched well this week, only giving up two runs on five hits across six innings. Duffy did surrender his third home run of the season, but fanned eight batters and only walked one. He continues to be the most dominant pitcher for the Storm Chasers.

Johnny Giavotella (.271/.336/.341) - Giavotella was an out-machine this week, batting .222 and only drawing one walk. Johnny  did crack a double and a home run, pushing his SLB back above his OBP. The second-basement is going to hit better than he has so far this season to force a call-up.

Lorenzo Cain (.284/.370/.432) - Cain also picked up seven hits this week, including five doubles. The center-fielder has struck out eight times in his last four games, and is striking out in over 25% of his PA this season. Cain has also stole five bases this season, and has yet to be caught stealing.

David Lough (.326/.358/.551) - Lough continues to hit the ball well, cracking nine hits, including his fourth home run of the season. If only he walked more. Lough is an aggressive hitter and does make good contact, as he only strikes out in 12% of his at-bats.

Clint Robinson (.320/.414/.592) - Robinson's overall numbers are starting to fall, but he is still hitting well. The first-basemen picked up six hits this week, and blasted his ninth homer. It was unrealistic to think he could .370 all season, but  the triple slash line he has now would be realistic for him to keep up all season.

Double-A: The Naturals went 3-2 this week, and had a game rained out Thursday. The Naturals play their next four games against the Springfield Cardinals.

Wil Myers (.284/.357/.392) - Myers had a hit in every game this week, and has hit well since his knee injury. He has struck out four times in the past four games, but has also drawn three walks in that span as well. Hopefully, Myers has made an adjustment at the plate, and his numbers will continue to rise.

John Lamb (3.49/4.19/0.94) - Lamb surrendered a lot of hits Sunday, but managed to work around them without surrendering a ton of runs. Lamb allowed four runs (three earned) on ten hits in six innings of work. The southpaw didn't walk anyone, but only struck out two batters. In 61 innings at AA, he has averaged 6.3 strikeouts per nine innings, compared to a 10.8 K/9 ratio in High-A. AA has clearly been an adjustment for him.

Christopher Dwyer (6.35/3.97/1.03) - Dwyer had another rough start on Monday, allowing six runs on five hits in 4.1 innings of work. Dwyer walked four batters, and only struck out three. The lefty has either gotten shelled or been dominant in each of his six starts, and his FIP suggests that he has been much better this season than his ERA indicates. He needs to cut down on his walks; he has walked 17 batters (9 in his last two starts) and only struck out 21.

Christian Colon (.263/.362/.364) - The hits are finally following for Colon, and he currently has an eight-game hitting streak. Colon picked up six hits in four games, and also drew three walks. If Colon continues to keep his OBP around 100 points above his BA, he would make himself a great candidate to eventually lead-off in the future.

Salvador Perez (.244/.298/.385) - Perez only played in three games this week, and picked up two hits. I really don't know what kind of batting numbers I am expecting or even want from Salvador this season. An OBP above .300, however, would be a nice place to start.

Derrick Robinson (.254/.361/.282) - Robinson is still on the DL, and he is eligible to return whenever he is healthy.

Will Smith (5.60/5.10/1.89) - Smith had one of his best starts of the season, only allowing one run on seven hits across six innings. Smith struck out four and walked two, but did allow his fifth home run of the season. Hopefully these home runs are fairly fluky, and Smith will stop giving up so many when he adjusts to AA and his home park (and as his HR/FB numbers regress to the mean).

High-A: The Blue Rocks went 2-4 this week, including a sweep at the hands of the Frederick Keys. Wilmington kicks off a three game series against the Potomac Nationals with Melville on the bump tonight.

Timothy Melville (5.17/4.22/1.03) - Melville had a decent start on Saturday, giving up three runs on six hits in six innings. The right-hander tied a season-high with seven strikeouts, and only walked two batters. Melville has only struck out two batters combined in his last two starts, and hopefully will start to strike out a high amount of batters again.

Jacob Odorizzi (1.97/1.17/0.65) - Odorizzi continues to shine, tossing six innings of a one-hit shutout Tuesday. Jake struck out 13 batters and only walked 3. Odorizzi has struck out 14 batters per nine while maintaining a 6.4 K/BB ratio. If he continues to overpower High-A, Odorizzi will be probably be called up to AA sooner rather than later.

Noel Arguelles (2.15/2.42/0.80) - Arguelles was solid for 5.2 innings on Wednesday, allowing one run on four hits. The left-hander struck out two batters and walked one. Arguelles continues to show impressive control, for that walk was only his second on the season

SB Nation Featured Video
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker