Following the Royals Top Prospects: 6/10-6/16

Triple Slash: Batters (BA/OBP/SLG) Pitchers (ERA/FIP/GO:AO)

Triple-A: The Storm Chasers went 4-3 this week, winning a series against the Oklahoma City RedHawks. They start a four-game series tonight against the Round Rock Express.

Mike Montgomery (5.00/4.35/1.48) - Montgomery was wildly effective Tuesday, allowing two runs on two hits in five innings. The lefty walked five batters, but was able to strike out eight. His K/BB ratio on the season is 1.4:1, not what you would hope for.

Johnny Giavotella (.309/.370/.434) - Giavotella picked up ten hits this week, including two home runs. He has hit the ball really well this month, sporting a .385/.420/.646 triple slash line.

Lorenzo Cain (.301/.368/.507) - Cain also had ten hits this week, and six went for extra-bases. Cain cracked three doubles, and homered in three straight games against the Iowa Cubs. My only criticism of Cain is that he continues to strike out a lot; he goes down swinging (or looking) in about 22% of his PA.

David Lough (.309/.351/.474) - Lough recorded seven hits this week, and also drew one walk. David isn't on fire right now, like some of the other Storm Chasers are, but he is still contributing and showing improvement from last season.

Clint Robinson (.350/.429/.629) - Robinson smacked nine hits this week, and sent three of those hits over the fence. Robinson's numbers have actually gotten better every season he has been promoted since Low-A ball, so I can only assume he would be the greatest hitter of all time if promoted.

Double-A: The Naturals are playing well right now, going 6-1 over the past week. They continue their four-game series against the Springfield Cardinals tonight.

Wil Myers (.296/.360/.432) - Myers had ten hits this week, and has three straight multi-hit games in a row. Five of Myers hits this week were doubles, and he also connected on his third home run of the season. It looks like Wil is healthy once again.

John Lamb - Designated List

Christopher Dwyer - (6.12/4.21/0.93) - Dwyer made two starts this week. His first start was rocky, allowing four runs on seven hits in six innings. The southpaw struck out four batters, but walked three. His second start was his best of the season; Chris threw six shutout innings. Dwyer allowed four hits and three walks, but fanned nine batters.

Christian Colon (.251/.327/.324) - Colon recorded eight hits this week, but only one went for extra-bases. Colon has actually performed much better in June, hitting .298/.385/.386. His first two months were really bad, however, and that has greatly affected his overall numbers.

Salvador Perez (.260/.306/.373) - Perez collected seven hits this week, including a double and a home-run. This is a fairly typical week for Perez; it's hard to tell how well he is doing as a catcher without watching the games. 

Derrick Robinson (.256/.339/.294) - Robinson had eight hits and three walks this week, but was unable to record any extra-base hits. The speedy center fielder stole three bases this week, but was caught stealing four times.

Will Smith (4.85/4.66/1.45) Smith was ineffective in his only start this week, giving up five runs on nine hits in six innings. Smith only walked two batters and struck out five. Opposing players are hitting an absurd .332 against the lefty this season.

High-A: The Blue Rocks went 3-3 this week, and had their game on Thursday night suspended because of rain. They will finish that game tonight, and then follow it with a seven-inning affair.

Timothy Melville (4.59/3.62/1.20) Melville had two strong starts this week. The first was a six-inning shutout, giving up four hits and three walks while striking out four batters. In his second start, Melville tossed five innings, allowing two runs on six hits. The righty struck out four and walked none.

Jacob Odorizzi (2.97/2.13/0.77) - Odorizzi had has worst start of the season on Sunday, getting battered for seven runs in just three innings. Jacob only allowed four hits, but two were round-trippers. He also walked more than he struck out for the first time this season, issuing four walks and only striking out three.

Noel Arguelles (2.74/3.52/0.73) - Arguelles pitched 3.2 shutout innings Thursday night before the game was suspened. He will resume pitching tonight, and I will include his complete start in next week's report.

Low-A: The Cougars went 1-6 this past week, including being swept by a former Royals affiliate, the Burlington Bees.

Cheslor Cuthbert (.298/.348/.482) - Cuthbert only had four hits in five games played this week, but did reach base once more with a walk. The third-basemen did connect on his fourth homer of the season on Sunday.

Brett Eibner (.138/.219/.241) - Eibner also played in five games this week, and only was able to hit two singles and draw one walk in 20 PA. Eibner was out two months with an injury, so it is not surprising to see him struggle.

Yordano Ventura (4.32/3.48/1.10) - Ventura pitched well on Sunday, only allowing one hit and an unearned run in 4.2 innings. The right-hander struck out six batters, and didn't walk any. Ventura is averaging 11.88 K/9 so far this season.

Jason Adam (4.64/4.35/1.03) - Adam threw 6.1 innings on Tuesday, giving up four runs on five hits. Jason struck out seven and only walked one batter, but two of his hits allowed were home runs. Adam has allowed five home runs in his last three starts.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker