Following the Royals Top Prospects: 6/17-6/23

Not a Top Prospect

The short season is under way, with the Idaho Falls Chukars and Burlington Royals starting games this past week. There are not a ton of interesting prospects in Rookie Ball, but I play on writing about Robinson Yambati once he starts throwing more innings. I may mention someone if they are performing well (Last year's third-round pick Michael Antonio is off to a hot start for the Chukars) but in general, I don't see a lot of future contributors on those teams.

Triple-A: The Storm Chasers went 4-4 last night, with future Nippon-Ham Fighter great Vin Mazzaro picking up the win Thursday night. Omaha wraps up their series against the Nashville Sounds Friday night

Mike Montgomery (5.82/4.79/1.51) - Montgomery was absolutely crushed on Sunday, allowing nine runs on ten hits in just three innings. Monty allowed four home-runs, and only struck out one batter. I try my best not to panic about prospects, but Montgomery isn't making this easy. He is only 22 years old in AAA, so he may just need more time. At this rate, I don't imagine we will see him this year unless he figures things out quickly.

Johnny Giavotella (.319/.375/.440) - Giavotella collected 14 hits this week, including three doubles. All though the PCL has been a crazy hitters league this season, it is still nice to see Gio's numbers pick up. Old Man Duggan, however, has not been impressed with his glove this season.

Lorenzo Cain (.308/.370/.520) - Cain had ten hits in eight games this week. Lorenzo legged out two triples, and cracked his eighth homer of the season. The slugging north of .500 shocks me every time I look at it.

David Lough (.308/.349/.476) - Lough had six hits in five games played this week, but he hasn't played in a game since Wednesday. I think I read that he was removed for a minor injury, but I couldn't find a link about it. Three of Lough's hits went for extra bases, including one triple.

Clint Robinson (.345/.420/.599) - Robinson smacked eight hits this week, including two doubles. If only Robinson was left-handed, I would jump aboard the "Trade Billy" bandwagon as quick as some of our commentors have.

Double-A: The Naturals went 4-3 this week, winning their series against the Tulsa Drillers. They start a four-game series against the Arkansas Travelers Friday night.

Wil Myers (.295/.366/.418) - Myers had seven hits this week, two of which were doubles. Wil has struggled hitting away from Arvest Ballpark this season, only sporting a .204/.245/.367 triple slash line on the road.

John Lamb - Disabled List

Christopher Dwyer (5.76/4.17/.95) - Dwyer posted his second strong start in a row, scattering six hits across five innings while only allowing one run. The left-hander struck out three, but also walked three. His LOB% looks like it is starting to normalize, so hopefully his overall numbers improve as a result. He still, however, needs to cut down on the walks.

Christian Colon (.260/.341/.343) - Colon collected eight hits this week, including one double and one home run. Colon's numbers have been way better in June, and he is still walking at a higher pace than he did last season. I think the shortstop was slumping/adjusting at the beginning of the season, and it appears that he has figured things out.

Salvador Perez (.267/.314/.377) - Perez picked up seven hits this week, including his fourth home-run of the season. Our catchers at the MLB level are so bad at framing pitches, and the video off have seen of Perez indicates he is good at it. That  makes me a little more excited for him.

Derrick Robinson (.249/.337/.287) - Robinson only had four hits this week, and is hitting a terrible .222/.308/.259 in June. I wonder if Robinson is still bothered by his injury, because he has struggled since returning. Righties have also given the switch-hitter problems this season, he is only hitting .211/.297/.268 against them.

Will Smith (4.58/4.53/1.38) Smith made two starts this week. In his first start, Wil allowed five runs (two earned) on eight hits in 5.2 innings pitched. In his second start, Smith allowed two runs on five hits in six innings of work. In both of his starts, the southpaw struck out three batters and walked one.

High-A: Wilmington was 4-2 the past week, playing five of those games against the Winston-Salem Dash. The Blue Rocks continue their series against the Lynchburg Hillcats tonight

Timothy Melville (4.50/3.50/1.20) Melville threw 5.1 innings Thursday night, giving up two runs and seven hits. The Pride of Wentzille, Missouri only walked one batter and struck out five. It was Melville's third straight start in a row allowing two earned runs or less.

Jacob Odorizzi (2.71/1.89/.77) Odorizzi had a strong start Friday, allowing two unearned runs in 5.2 innings. Jake gave up four hits and two walks, but fanned 11 batters. The right-hander has an interesting reverse split; lefties are hitting just .197 against Odorizzi, while righties are hitting .266.

Noel Arguelles (2.53/3.39/.77) Arguelles pitched to one batter on Friday, recording an out before being removed. He ended up pitching four innings in the suspended game, giving up no runs and two hits while striking out five. Noel will pitch tonight for the Blue Rocks.

Low-A: The Cougars only played three games this week because of the MWL All-Star Game, going 1-2 against the Clinton LumberKings. Kane County resumes play against the Peoria Chiefs tonight.

Cheslor Cuthbert (.289/.350/.467) - Cuthbert went 2-7 this week, hitting two singles and also reaching base with one walk.

Brett Eibner (.132/.214/.211) Eibner went 1-9 this past week, collecting one single and one walk. Eibner's hit on Saturday was his first hit at home this season

Yordano Ventura (4.40/4.02/1.29) - Ventura had an up-and-down start Saturday, allowing four runs on five hits in 5.2 innings. The righty struck out two batters, but walked three.

Jason Adam (4.26/4.43/.97) - Adam was effective Sunday, giving up one run on two hits in five innings of work. Jason struck out five batters, and only walked one. The right-hander appears to be having problems elevating the ball; he has allowed six home runs in his past four starts.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker