Following the Royals Top Prospects 5/27-6/2

ARLINGTON, TX - APRIL 24: Pitcher Jeremy Jeffress #41 of the Kansas City Royals throws against the Texas Rangers at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington on April 24, 2011 in Arlington, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

I added Jeffress to the list of prospects, mostly because the Royals are trying to make him into a starter. If he switches back to the bullpen, he will probably drop off this last. I am, however, very curious on how this experiment will turn out.

Triple Slash: Batters (BA/OBP/SLG) Pitchers (ERA/FIP/GO:AO)

Triple-A: The Storm Chasers went 4-3 this past week, but suffered a 22-6 beatdown on Thursday. Omaha finishes their series against the New Orleans Zephyrs Friday.

Mike Moustakas (.292/.356/.510) - Moose was on fire this week, racking up 14 hits. Three of those hits were doubles, and two of them left the yard. His overall numbers continue to rise after a slow start.

Mike Montgomery (5.18/3.98/1.46) - Montgomery was roughed up in his start Sunday, allowing six runs on eight hits in 4.1 innings. The lefty has allowed five runs in three of his last four starts, and appears to be in a funk.

Johnny Giavotella (.293/.360/.403) - Gio also swung the bat well, collecting 11 hits. Four of his hits were doubles, so hopefully the warm weather is helping the ball travel farther off his bat.

Lorenzo Cain (.293/.363/.460) - Cain had a solid week, picking up eight hits and drawing a couple of walks. Two of Cain's hits were for extra bases, and he has shown more power in AAA than I expected of him.

David Lough (.320/.363/.509) - Lough had five hits this week, but amazingly drew four walks. Lough looks like he is ready for a call-up, but Francouer is hitting well enough that David seems to be stuck in AAA for the time being.

Jeremy Jeffress (6.35/5.26/1.50) Jeffress only worked two innings in his start this week, allowing one run on one hit. He struck out one batter, but issued five walks. That's not the kind of control you would like to see out of your starter.

Clint Robinson (.354/.441/.614) - Robinson had a decent week, smacking five hits and collecting four walks. I hope the Royals are shopping Robinson hard, because he certainly deserves a shot somewhere.

Double-A: The Naturals went 2-4 this week, losing a series to the Midland RockHounds. They play the final game of their series against the Frisco RoughRiders Friday night.

Wil Myers - Myers is currently in Suprise, and hopefully will be back with the Naturals soon.

John Lamb - Lamb is having Tommy John Surgery, and will miss the rest of the season.

Christopher Dwyer (6.14/4.31/1.11) - Dwyer labored in his last start, giving up five runs on four hits in 5.1 innings. The southpaw struck out six batters, but walked three. He should start tomorrow night against the RoughRiders.

Christian Colon (.232/.302/.298) - Colon had another rough week, only reaching base four times in 25 PA. I still have faith that he can turn it around, but he needs to start hitting better soon.

Salvador Perez (.263/.305/.367) - Perez went 4-17 this week, and also earned a walk. The catcher normally makes contact, but struck out four times this week, raising his season total to 16.

Derrick Robinson (.280/.369/.336) - Robinson had a nice week, picking up ten hits, including three for extra bases. The centerfielder also swiped five bags, but was caught stealing twice. He appears to be healthy again.

Will Smith (4.75/5.06/1.55) - Smith did not have his best stuff this week, allowing five runs on seven hits in 6.1 innings. He fanned two batters, but allowed two walks. Smith is still having issues keeping the ball in the park; he has allowed a homer in his last three starts.

High-A: The Blue Rocks are in a slump, going 1-6 this past week. They start a three-game series against the Potomac Nationals tonight.

Timothy Melville (4.83/3.99/1.23) - Melville was roughed up in his start this week, snapping a streak of four effective starts. Melville allowed eight runs (five earned) and seven hits in 3.1 innings pitched. The right-hander struck out two batters, but walked two as well.

Jacob Odorizzi (2.05/1.53/0.75) - Odorizzi made two starts this week. His first start was short; he allowed one run on three hits in 3.1 innings. Odorizzi walked three, but fanned seven. He dominated in his second start, shutting out the Kinston Indians for six innings. Jake scattered three hits, striking out eight hitters while walking two.

Noel Arguelles (2.84/3.60/0.77) - Arguelles had a difficult start Saturday, allowing four runs on seven hits in 5.1 innings. Three of the hits against Noel were home runs, raising his season total to five. The left-hander struck out three, and issued one walk.

Low-A: The Cougars went 4-3 this week, and having been playing a lot better since Cuthbert, Ventura, and Adam were called up.

Cheslor Cuthbert (.318/.400/.500) - Cuthbert picked up eight singles this week, and also drew five walks. The third basemen has been hitting  well so far in Low-A, and looks like he has made a lot of progress since last season.

Yordano Ventura (7.04/4.77/1.09) - Ventura made two starts this week. The first start was impressive; the right-hander tossed five shutout innings. He gave up two hits and two walks, but struck out ten batters. In his second start, Ventura allowed four runs on seven hits in 4.1 innings. Three of the seven hits left the park. Yordano did fan eight batters in his second start, and only issued one walk.

Jason Adam (1.85/2.95/1.13) Adam also made two starts this week, throwing six innings in each. In his first start, Adam gave up one run run on three hits, walking one batter while striking out three. Jason gave up two runs in his second start, allowing four hits and one walk but struck out eight batters.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker