Following the Royals Top Prospects: 7/8-7/14

Triple Slash: Batters (BA/OBP/SLG) Pitchers (ERA/FIP/GO:AO)

Triple-A: The Storm Chasers went 2-2 this past week, only playing four games because of their All-Star break. They continue their series against the New Orleans Zephyrs Friday night.

Mike Montgomery (5.18/4.42/1.48) - Montgomery did not make a start this week.

Danny Duffy (3.43/3.18/0.78) - Duffy tossed six innings in his start for the Storm Chasers, allowing four runs on seven hits. The left-hander fanned five batters and walked none. He is scheduled to start for the Royals July 19th.

Johnny Giavotella (.328/.384/.462) : Gio only played in three games this week, but went 7-for-13. Johnny had one double, and drew two walks. In unrelated news, Chris Getz has a wOBA of .286.

Lorenzo Cain (.313/.379/.529) - Cain went 6-for-12 this week, recording two three-hit games. One of Lorenzo's hits was a double, and another was his eleventh homer of the season. The centerfielder also has five steals in his last six games.

David Lough (.314/.357/.481) - Lough hit the ball well this week, going 8-for-19. Lough cracked two doubles, and also legged out a triple. He also stole three bases.

Clint Robinson (.322/.395/.542) - Robinson had six hits in 14 at-bats this week, and has had four multi-hit games in a row. The first baseman blasted his 17th home run of the season on Saturday.

Double-A: The Naturals went 3-3 this past week, losing their series against the Corpus Christi Hooks. They play the second game of their series against the Springfield Cardinals Friday night.

Wil Myers (.265/.349/.375) - Myers is slumping right now; the rightfielder went 1-for-16 the past week, and has a .135 BA over his last ten games. Wil struck out five times the past week, and drew two walks.

John Lamb - Disabled List

Christopher Dwyer (6.86/4.80/0.93) Dwyer had another disastrous start Sunday. The lefthander allowed six runs on three hits in 2.2 innings. Chris walked six batters, and only struck out one. At this point in the season, the Royals might be thinking about sending him down to High-A.

Jacob Odorizzi (3.75/4.78/.40) - Odorizzi thew seven innings in his second AA start, giving up three runs on five hits. Jake walked one batter and struck out four, but allowed his second home run. Odorizzi has had flyball tendencies, so Arvest ballpark may be a tough adjustment for him.

Christian Colon (.257/.337/.333) - Colon went 7-for-20 the past week, collecting two doubles. The shortstop walked three times this week, and still has more walks than strikeouts on the season. Colon also stole three bases.

Salvador Perez (.269/.313/.392) - Perez did not have a great week at the plate, only picking up four hits in 26 at-bats. The catcher has only drawn one walk in July.

Derrick Robinson (.280/.355/.324) - Robinson is starting to swing the bat better, going 10-for-26 this week. Only one of Robinson's hits went for extra-bases; the centerfielder hit his first home run of the season on Sunday. Derrick has 35 steals this year, and has been caught eight times.

Will Smith (4.20/4.30/1.18) Smith made two starts this week. In his first start, the southpaw tossed 6.1 innings, allowing three runs on five hits. In his second start, Will threw six innings, allowing three runs on nine hits. Will struck out three batters and walked one in each start. Smith also has given up one home run in his starts this week, giving him 11 allowed on the year.

Rey Navarro (.280/.294/.320) - Navarro went 10-for-25 this week, which included his second double as a Natural. Rey also stole his first base in AA on Friday.

High-A: The Blue Rocks went 3-2 this week, and had one of their games suspended until August 26th because of rain. They square off against the Frederick Keys on Friday.

Timothy Melville (4.12/3.42/1.28) - Melville has temporarily been switched to the bullpen. He made two appearances this week; he tossed two innings in both of them, and allowed one earned run in both as well. J.J. Picollo claims they are just trying to rest him, which I hope is the truth. Melville only threw 117 innings last season, and has already thrown 87 this year.  

Noel Arguelles (2.47/3.30/.73) - Arguelles pitched 5.2 innings this week, allowing three runs on six hits. Noel struck out two batters, and only walked one. It would be nice to see the lefty miss more bats, but its hard to complain about eight walks in 76 innings.

Low-A: The Cougars went 4-3 this week, including a three-game sweep against the Burlington Bees. They finish off their series against the Lansing Lugnuts Friday.

Cheslor Cuthbert (.335/.380/.510) - Cuthbert has 10 hits in his last 23 at-bats, which includes three doubles and a home run. The third baseman also drew two walks this week. He is also 18.

Brett Eibner (.194/.298/.426) - Eibner only went 4-for-23 this week, but did manage to blast his seventh homer of the season. Exactly 1/3 of Brett's hits are home runs, we can only assume he will keep that up when he starts to hit better.

Yordano Ventura (5.19/3.72/1.22)  - Ventura was demoted to the Surprise, Arizona team on Tuesday. Clint Scoles reported that he left the his last start with an undisclosed injury, and speculates that it could be related to the injury.

Jason Adam (4.50/4.20/1.17) Adam did not have a great start this week, allowing four runs on seven hits in five innings. The righthander did strike out seven batters, and only walked two. He also allowed his eight home run on the season, which is starting to look like a problem for him. 

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker