Following The Royals Top Prospects: 7/15-7/21

SURPRISE AZ - FEBRUARY 23: Jeremy Jeffress #41 of the Kansas City Royals poses for a portrait during Spring Training Media Day on February 23 2011 at Surprise Stadium in Surprise Arizona.. (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

Triple Slash: Batters (BA/OBP/SLG) Pitchers (ERA/FIP/GO:AO)

Triple-A: The Storm Chasers went 3-3 this week, and had one game rained out against the Memphis Redbirds. They start a series against the Round Rock Express Friday night.

Mike Montgomery (5.33/4.50/1.42) - Montgomery did not have a strong start, allowing five runs on six hits over five innings. The left-hander walked three batters, and only struck out two. This start was a setback for for Monty after three strong appearances.

Johnny Giavotella (.340/.394/.485) - Gio hit .428 the past week, and has had four multi-hit games in a row. Johnny also smacked four XBH's this week: two home runs and two doubles. The second baseman is absolutely on fire; his BA is .401 since June.

Lorenzo Cain (.318/.385/.522) - Lorenzo had a slightly below average week, going 7-for-23 at the plate. One of Cain's hits was a double, and he also drew four walks. The centerfielder is still striking out more than one would like, but his K/AB has dropped under 25%.

David Lough (.311/.355/.472) - Lough did not have his best week, going 7-for-25 at the plate. The rightfielder did draw three walks and legged out a triple. He only has four home runs on the season, I thought he had more power than that.

Clint Robinson (.318/.395/.532) - Robinson had an average week, collecting seven hits in 22 at bats. Clint walked three times, and blasted his 18th home run of the season. His numbers have slowly regressed over the season, but he still has had a strong year.

Double-A: The Naturals went 5-2 this week, including a four-game sweep against the Arkansas Travelers. They start a series against the Springfield Cardinals Friday.

Wil Myers (.268/.355/.373) - Myers hit .300 this week, going 7-for-21. Wil walked four times, and cracked two doubles. This week was one of his strongest in July; the rightfielder is hitting .185 this month.

John Lamb - Disabled List

Christopher Dwyer (6.80/4.97/0.95) - Dwyer made two starts this week. In his first outing, the southpaw was tagged for five runs and five hits in 5.1 innings. Dwyer walked five batters, and struck out three. In his second start, Dwyer tossed his first quality start in six appearances. Chris allowed three runs on five hits in six innings, walking three and fanning five.

Jacob Odorizzi (5.63/5.58/0.30) - Odorizzi struggled on Sunday, giving up five runs and five hits in four innings. The right-hander walked four, and struck out three. Jake also allowed his third home run in as many AA starts.

Christian Colon (.257/.334/.337) - Colon went 6-for-20 this week, which included one double. The shortstop has very little power, and needs to hit for a higher average to justify his high prospect status.

Jeremy Jeffress (2.25/4.95/1.33) - Jeffress only allowed one run in four innings, but was very lucky in his first start for the Naturals. The righty gave up six hits and three walks, and only struck out one batter. I don't know why the Royals are trying to convert Jeremy; I don't think he will ever have enough control to be an effective starter.

Salvador Perez (.267/.312/.387) - Perez had a below average week, getting five hits in 21 at bats. Salvador did draw two walks, and two of his hits were doubles. Perez is very consistent; he has never hit lower than .258 in a month, but never higher than .279.

Derrick Robinson (.271/.345/.315) - Robinson did not have a great week, only going 4-for-19. Robinson walked twice, and one of his hits was a double. Derrick also stole two bases.

Will Smith (3.93/4.19/1.17) Smith tossed seven hitless innings, combining with Kelvin Herrera to no-hit the Travelers. Will issued two walks, and fanned five batters. After a difficult start to the season, Smith has quietly been the best starter for the Naturals.

Rey Navarro (.314/.371/.360) - Navarro went 8-for-21 this week, and collected three walks. Two of Navarro's hits were doubles, and the infielder also swiped two bags. Rey has been a nice surprise this season, and is starting to hit well for the Naturals. 

High-A: The Blue Rocks struggled this week, only winning one out of six games. They start a series against the Kinston Indians Friday.

Timothy Melville (3.94/3.39/1.29) Melville made two more appearances out of the bullpen, tossing two innings each time. He threw four shutout innings, combining to allow two hits and two walks while fanning four batters. Melville is not scheduled to start the next four games.

Noel Arguelles (2.92/3.45/0.71) - Arguelles had an effective start on Thursday, giving up one run and three hits over five innings. The lefty struck out four, but walked three. Ten of Noel's 15 walks have come in his past four starts.

Low-A: The Cougars won three and lost three this week, and are currently the second-half division leaders in the Midwest League Western Division. Kane County finishes their series Friday night against the West Michigan Whitecaps.

Cheslor Cuthbert (.329/.383/.486) - Cutbhert went 5-for-18 this week, all of his hits were singles. The third baseman did draw four walks, and only struck out twice. Cheslor is turning into the new darling of the Royals farm system.

Brett Eibner (.185/.313/.395) - Eibner continues to struggle/have bad luck, only picking up two hits in 18 at bats. Brett did draw six walks and hit one double. The walks are a positive sign; the centerfielder is showing good control of the strike zone even though the hits are not falling for him.

Jason Adam (4.70/4.28/1.17) - Home runs continue to plague Adam, as the right-hander allowed his ninth homer in 12 starts. Jason gave up four runs and five hits in 5.1 innings, fanning three batters and walking one. Besides the home run problem, Adam has pitched well for the Cougars.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker