FanPost

Offensive Projections

Alex Gordon

.285/20HR/73RBI/18SB

Yes, Gordon could put up better numbers. Heck, he already has, but pitchers might figure him out a little bit and really what is wrong with these numbers? I think RBIs could go down a little because of being at the top of the lineup starting opening day, but if he continues to put it together, these numbers can be low.

Lorenzo Cain

.275/14/70/22

I kept a close eye on Cain when he was in AAA and really if it weren’t for Melky having the numbers that he did, I believe Cain would have been called up a lot sooner. Since I have just a small sample size to go over in the major leagues, I’m going to say he has a good full season, but his biggest strength is going to come from his defense and speed which I think will his base steeling skills will be tested this year.

Eric Hosmer

.312/28/112/5

I love Hosmer so much that I had to calm myself before putting these stats out. He’ll have another 100 at bats with a full season and a year under his belt. Put that with the fact that he’ll have protection like he did last year, and it makes for a making of a superstar.

Billy Butler

.318/17/105/2

A bit of a bounce back year for Billy and couple that with Billy having protection in front and behind him for really the first time in his career. Maybe the 105 RBIs is high since he hasn’t hit 100 RBIs yet, but I think Billy has something to prove this year, and this might just be the year to do it.

Mike Moustakas

.283/19/81/6

Let me clarify a little bit, I think Moose will move up in the lineup at the end of the year, so this is where he will end up, probably not start. Moustakas has always started slow when moving up to the next level so it was just a matter of time till he started to heat up and I think these are all very achievable numbers. RBIs might be a bit high, but since the people in front of him are potentially .300 hitters, he might just run into some RBIs.

Jeff Francoeur

.271/18/71/14

I’m not really sure what to think about Frenchy. Maybe if he doesn’t have to be the guy and gets to move down in the lineup, he can put up some bigger numbers. Maybe he lays an egg, I’m not really sure. I’m taking the middle road, which is his career average and good but not crazy numbers across the board.

Salvador Perez

.278/12/64/2

Perez I believe is the biggest wild card for the Royals. If he can play like he did in his 150 AB last year, the Royals have an explosive offense top to bottom. I think he comes back down to earth from his .331 BA from last year, but still, he’s a great defensive catcher, with a great arm and not a liability at the plate. When was the last time the Royals had a catcher that we could actually be excited about? I have to give him another year before I bump up those numbers a little, but these numbers could be low.

Johnny Giavotella

.273/6/54/17

I am excited about Giavotella, but I think he needs time to develop a little longer in the bigs. That’s alright though as he won’t be asked to carry the offense, but he has always been a good contact hitter and I think he will be a little more patient this year and draw more walks. Also, look for the Royals to let him go on the base paths a little more.

Alcides Escobar

.275/4/53/34

Maybe I’m a bit optimistic here, but Escobar was able to put together stretches where these numbers are definitely possible. The Royals might also let him run more this year and give the guys back at the top of the order a chance to hit him in.

B.A.

HR

RBI

SB

Alex Gordon

.285

20

73

18

Lorenzo Cain

.275

14

70

22

Eric Hosmer

.312

28

112

5

Billy Butler

.318

17

105

2

Mike Moustakas

.283

19

81

6

Jeff Francoeur

.271

18

71

14

Salvador Perez

.278

12

64

2

Johnny Giavotella

.273

6

54

17

Alcides Escobar

.275

4

53

34

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker