Royal Rumblings - 4/24/12

We're Going Streaking

Ferrell_medium

Here are the instances when the Royals have had an 11 or more game losing streak:

Streak Year Start End
19 2005 07/28/05 08/19/05
13 2006 05/12/06 05/25/06
12 2008 05/19/08 05/30/08
12 1997 06/28/97 07/13/97
11 2012 04/11/12 04/23/12
11 2006 04/09/06 04/21/06
11 1986 06/27/86 07/08/86

2nd place is certainly within this team's grasp. Now for the times the Royals had an 11 or more game winning streak:

Streak Year Start End
16 1977 08/31/77 09/15/77
14 1994 07/23/94 08/05/94

Running Wild

Hayes_medium

Here is a quick look at how the Royals stupid aggressive base running compares to the rest of the league:

SB%
Royals: 56% - 10 for 18 (2nd lowest value)
AL Average: 68%

Picked Off
Royals: 6 times (T2nd highest value)
AL Average: 2.3

Times Out on Bases
Royals: 7 times (3rd highest value)
AL Average: 5.1

Extra: 6 times a player has been caught stealing 3B in the AL in 2012, the Royals have 2 of them.

No wonder this team has lost a bunch of close games with players making so many extra outs on the base paths.

Going Outside

Bat_medium

From my untrained scouting eye, it seems that pitchers have been pounding Eric Hosmer on the outer half of the plate. I decided to look at the results of pitches in the rule book strike zone. I divided the zone up into 4 areas. Here are the BABIP, Swing and Miss % and % of total pitches for each zone in 2011 and 2012:


Year Swing and Miss % BABIP % of Pitches
Low and Outside 2012 25% 0.211 38%

2011 16% 0.356 36%
Low and Inside 2012 23% 0.111 18%

2011 7% 0.323 18%
High and Inside 2012 0% 0.200 18%

2011 15% 0.301 20%
High and Outside 2012 16% 0.273 27%

2011 13% 0.422 26%

I can see why pitchers like to keep the ball on the outer half the plate with Hosmer. He is most likely to swing and miss on those outside pitches (high and low). Pitches are staying a little more away from the high outside pitch compared to the low one because if Hosmer does hit the ball, it is more likely to go for a hit.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker