Alex Gordon ... Another Struggling Royal

Gordon, "Oh, there is my average."

Alex Gordon's 2011 season was the second greatest season for a Royals hitter since George Brett's 1985 season. It is 2012 and Alex is hitting more like pre-2011 then he did last year. Here is a look at his triple slash lines from before 2011, 2011 and 2012.

AVG/OBP/SLG
Pre-2011: 0.244/0.328/0.405
2011: 0.303/0.376/0.502
2012: 0.235/0.330/0.371

The main change is that his AVG is ~60 points higher than the other two samples, which in turn bumped up his OBP and SLG. Here is a look at his BABIP across the years:

BABIP
Pre-2011: 0.294
2011: 0.358
2012: 0.283

The 2012 BABIP value is more like pre-2011 than 2011. Besides his BABIP, here is his xBABIP values over the years:

Year: xBABIP, BABIP
2007: 0.304, 0.303
2008: 0.311, 0.309
2009: 0.292, 0.276
2010: 0.322, 0.254
2011: 0.333, 0.358
2012: 0.307, 0.283
Career: 0.315, 0.311

Generally, Alex's BABIP is where he should be over his career considering his batted ball profile.

His batted ball profile has led Alex to a 0.260/0.342/0.429 triple slash line for his career. I think people should be expecting this type of production from him instead of the career season he had in 2011.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker