FanPost

A Reason to Watch the Next Two Games

It is that time in the Royals season again. That time when even the most Kool-Aid drunk fan is questioning why they are following the Royals. They are out of contention, the trade deadline has passed. Myers and Odorizzi will most likely spend the rest of the year in AAA, so there is not even going to be some promising prospects to watch trying their hands at the MLB level. In fact, it is so bad, that some nights the powers-that-be at RR don't even bother writing a post-game thread. Other nights, four runs will score before an "Official Game Thread" is even bothered to be started. It is a tough time to be a Royals fan.

Now, some will point out that there is no reason to care about the Royals because football season is about to start. Some others will counter that Billy has a real shot at breaking the Royals franchise record for homeruns. If that day comes, it would be glorious on most high. If he breaks that record, surely the curse of the Balboni will be lifted, and we shall all sing praises in his honor, write epic poems about his prowess with the bat, and rename all of our children Billy Ray. Throngs of Royals fans will dance in the streets that night, making merry until rosy-fingered dawn breaks.

If that glorious day comes, it will be in the latter part of September. We need something to root for now. We need something to root for that has all of the tension of a playoff game. Now, I know what you are thinking. "Impossible. The probability of Butler and Gordon having another shot at successfully hitting for the cycle in the same game is approximately 3,720 to 1!" Well, I am here to tell you, that yes there is something we can root for, it is for FIFTY WINS. If the Royals can manage to win the next two games against the Orioles, they will reach 50 wins before they play the 114th game of the season for only the second time since that magical 2003 season.

Date

G

W

L

W-L%

GB

8/9/2012

111

48

63

0.432

11.5

8/12/2011

119

50

69

0.42

13.5

8/17/2010

119

50

69

0.42

19

8/30/2009

130

50

80

0.385

19.5

7/30/2008

109

50

59

0.459

11

8/9/2007

113

50

63

0.442

14

9/1/2006

136

50

86

0.368

34.5

9/20/2005

150

51

99

0.34

40

9/9/2004

139

50

89

0.36

29

7/12/2003

91

50

41

0.549

--

Sure, if they can manage this feat, there will be no parade. There will be no ESPN bottom line update flashing across the screen, and most likely nobody will be waking up their kids to celebrate. But if this team can reach this admittedly insubstantial goal, then we all will have a reason to wake up in the morning, we will have to recreate this:

1x01_-_veggie_bacon_medium

via images.wikia.com

Road to 50 Schedule:

Fri, 8/10

at Orioles

6:05p

Hochevar (7-9)

Gonzalez (3-2)

Sat, 8/11

at Orioles

6:05p

Mendoza (5-8)

Tillman (5-1)

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker