Best Royals Starts This Year According To Game Score

Jeremy Guthrie pitched a gem last night.

(And by "gem" I mean a game that completely won the Jonathan Sanchez/Guthrie trade for GMDM. Sanchez can pitch forever in Colorado and will never throw eight shutout innings with no walks. No way. Win.)

Anyway, for a great as Guthrie looked, it got me wondering if his start on Wednesday was the best start by a Royal this summer.

So I turned to my ever trusty companion Game Score and discovered that while Guthrie's was really good (relatively speaking for Royal starters) his start wasn't the best.

Top Game Scores for 2012 following the jump...

So here are the starters who have posted a Game Score greater than 70 this year. Only nine times...

Rk Player Date Tm Opp Rslt IP H R ER BB SO HR Pit Str GSc
1 Luke Hochevar 2012-06-25 KCR TBR W 8-0 9.0 7 0 0 1 8 0 113 73 80
2 Jeremy Guthrie 2012-08-08 KCR CHW W 2-1 8.0 5 0 0 0 6 0 104 74 78
3 Luke Hochevar 2012-05-12 KCR CHW W 5-0 7.0 3 0 0 1 5 0 101 58 75
4 Bruce Chen 2012-06-05 KCR MIN W 1-0 7.0 4 0 0 0 5 0 88 62 74
5 Felipe Paulino 2012-05-16 KCR BAL L 3-4 7.0 5 0 0 2 9 0 103 67 74
6 Danny Duffy 2012-04-10 KCR OAK W 3-0 6.0 1 0 0 4 8 0 103 62 74
7 Luis Mendoza 2012-06-29 KCR MIN W 4-3 8.0 5 1 1 0 5 0 115 71 73
8 Luke Hochevar 2012-06-19 KCR HOU W 2-0 7.2 5 0 0 4 6 0 93 58 71
9 Bruce Chen 2012-04-06 KCR LAA L 0-5 6.0 3 0 0 0 4 0 75 54 70
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Play Index Tool Used
Generated 8/9/2012.

One thing that leaps out is that the top nine games have been thrown by six different starters. Normally, that would suggest a balanced attack. Though watching this team for four months, we know that's not the case.

Another thing I learned... Only three teams have yet to have a starter post a Game Score of 81 or higher. Besides the Royals it's the Rockies (ha!) and the Astros.

If pitching is the currency of baseball, Dayton Moore should file for Chapter 11.
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker