Kelvin Herrera's nightmare was very real

Daniel Shirey

Home run. Home run. Home run.

It's been almost five years since a Royal reliever coughed up three home runs in a single appearance. On August 14, 2008 Joel Peralta made it two-thirds of an inning against the Chicago White Sox. He allowed two walks and three hits - all home runs.

On Tuesday, Kelvin Herrera became the 17th different pitcher in franchise history to allow three home runs in a relief outing.

The list:

Rk Player Date Tm Opp Rslt App,Dec IP H R ER BB SO HR BF WPA RE24 aLI
1 Joel Peralta 2008-08-14 KCR CHW L 2-9 6-6 0.2 3 5 5 2 0 3 7 -0.247 -4.562 .909
2 Neal Musser 2007-05-10 KCR OAK L 3-17 7-7 1.0 4 4 4 0 0 3 7 -0.002 -3.450 .002
3 Chris Booker 2006-05-13 KCR BAL L 1-11 7-8 1.0 5 6 6 3 0 3 11 -0.009 -5.726 .045
4 Miguel Asencio 2002-05-16 KCR MIN L 5-14 4-6 3.0 5 3 3 1 1 3 15 -0.063 -1.207 .159
5 Dan Murray 2000-06-18 KCR OAK L 3-21 5-6 2.0 5 4 4 2 4 3 13 0.000 -2.769 .000
6 Dan Murray 2000-06-16 KCR OAK L 3-8 8-8 0.2 4 3 3 0 0 3 6 -0.132 -2.659 .273
7 Chris Fussell 2000-04-20 KCR MIN L 7-9 5-7 3.0 3 3 3 1 3 3 13 -0.139 -1.493 .402
8 Brad Rigby 2000-04-09 KCR MIN L 7-13 5-6 1.1 8 7 7 0 2 4 12 -0.025 -6.016 .050
9 Jim Pittsley 1998-07-21 KCR TEX L 5-15 1-5 4.1 4 4 4 1 2 4 17 -0.090 -3.240 .088
10 Julio Valera 1996-06-04 KCR OAK L 3-8 5-6 1.1 4 3 3 0 2 3 8 -0.255 -3.379 .730
11 Jeff Montgomery 1991-06-23 (1) KCR BAL L 8-11 8-10 ,BL 2.2 8 7 7 1 1 3 17 -0.721 -6.202 1.172
12 Kevin Appier 1990-05-21 KCR DET L 6-11 2-3 1.1 5 5 5 3 1 3 12 -0.316 -6.384 .427
13 Bob Shirley 1987-06-16 KCR OAK L 1-11 3-7 4.1 6 7 7 4 0 3 22 -0.101 -4.501 .129
14 Joe Beckwith 1984-06-27 KCR OAK L 5-9 4-7 3.2 5 4 4 0 2 3 16 -0.193 -1.998 .614
15 Jeff Twitty 1980-08-28 KCR TEX L 6-10 4-5 ,L 1.1 6 5 5 0 0 3 10 -0.445 -4.175 1.199
16 Marty Pattin 1977-05-28 KCR BOS L 12-17 5-7 ,BL 1.2 4 6 4 1 2 3 11 -0.457 -5.809 .725
17 Gene Garber 1973-07-28 KCR CAL L 8-19 2-6 5.0 9 8 7 4 2 3 26 -0.068 -6.625 .087

And these were monster shots surrendered by Herrera. No doubters. Long gone.

Sadly, the Atlanta PITCHf/x equipment seemed to be experiencing technical difficulties on Tuesday. (I'm leaning conspiracy theory here. The data shows something. What does it show? Why is the government hiding it? Was Bud Selig on the grassy knoll?)

HR #1 - Jason Heyward

PITCHf/x is working here. A 98 mph fastball, just on the outer half of the plate. Heyward is good. Good enough he can muscle the ball the opposite field to untie the game.

Heyward_hr_medium

HR #2 - Justin Upton

Apparently, Upton doesn't have enough GR!T for the Diamondbacks. Whatever. He has enough power for the Braves. Eight home runs in 13 games. This is one of those, "Don't feel bad, he's doing it to everyone" kind of moments.

PITCHf/x was down for the home run. If I recall correctly from the broadcast, it was a change-up that was in Upton's happy place. Hanger. Upton absolutely destroyed this pitch.

Upton_hr_medium

HR #3 - Dan Uggla

By the time of the Uggla home run, my head was spinning and it was like my mind was hovering over my body. I mean we have Luke Hochevar in the bullpen. This isn't supposed to happen to Herrera.

Again, PITCHf/x was down for this plate appearance. Going back and watching the Atlanta TV feed, Herrera started Uggla out with a 99 mph fastball and followed that up with a lively 80 mph curve. Both were taken for strikes. Really, when Herrera is mixing speeds like that, he's a beast. Except when the opposing hitter is down 0-2, looking for a fastball to hit and gets one belt-high.

Uggla_hr_medium

The Royals hypothesized Herrera was tipping his pitches. We've heard this song and dance from the organization before, but the Uggla plate appearance has me wondering. This year, Herrera has thrown his change up 45 percent of the time when ahead in the count to a right-handed batter. He's thrown it 50 percent of the time to a right-handed batter when he has two strikes against them. The only way Uggla crushes that pitch is if he's sitting dead red. Possible? Sure. Except everyone knows Herrera's hammer pitch is his change. He shows the curve on occasion, using it more against right-handed hitters than lefties. After giving up two home runs and jumping ahead on a fastball and a curve, Uggla is looking fastball against a pitcher who destroys righties with his change. In that situation you look fastball and adjust to the offspeed. Still...

Of course, if he's not leaving his fastball belt-high down the middle of the plate on an 0-2 pitch, it wouldn't matter so much.

SB Nation Featured Video
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker