FanPost

How bad is 4-19? Let's see how many times it has happened since 2004...

Quintero-nuts_640_426_s_c1_center_top_0_0_medium

I decided to look at every 23 game stretch for the Royals since 2004. Because I wanted to do the worst thing possible with my free time I guess. The following chart has the lowest win totals in any 23 game stretch over the last 9+ seasons of misery. (See: columns W-23 and L-23 for the record). I even included streaks that happened between seasons, so every stretch after game 23 of 2004 was accounted for. So, here goes:

Year Gm Date Tm @ Opp W-L R RA W-23 L-23 Record
2005 29 Fri May 6 KCR @ BAL L 1 3 4 19 (07-22)
2005 30 Sat May 7 KCR @ BAL L 3 5 4 19 (07-23)
2005 33 Tue May 10 KCR @ TOR L 1 3 4 19 (08-25)
2005 34 Wed May 11 KCR @ TOR L 9 12 4 19 (08-26)
2005 117 Mon Aug 15 KCR @ SEA L 3 11 4 19 (38-79)
2005 118 Tue Aug 16 KCR @ SEA L 3 4 4 19 (38-80)
2005 119 Wed Aug 17 KCR @ SEA L 5 11 3 20 (38-81)
2005 120 Fri Aug 19 KCR @ OAK L 0 4 3 20 (38-82)
2005 121 Sat Aug 20 KCR @ OAK W 2 1 3 20 (39-82)
2005 122 Sun Aug 21 KCR @ OAK W 5 4 4 19 (40-82)
2005 123 Tue Aug 23 KCR BOS L 2 5 3 20 (40-83)
2005 124 Wed Aug 24 KCR BOS W 4 3 3 20 (41-83)
2005 125 Thur Aug 25 KCR BOS W 7 4 4 19 (42-83)
2005 126 Fri Aug 26 KCR @ NYY L 1 5 4 19 (42-84)
2005 127 Sat Aug 27 KCR @ NYY L 7 8 4 19 (42-85)
2005 128 Sun Aug 28 KCR @ NYY L 3 10 4 19 (42-86)
2005 129 Mon Aug 29 KCR MIN L 1 3 4 19 (42-87)
2005 130 Tue Aug 30 KCR MIN L 4 7 4 19 (42-88)
2006 55 Mon Jun 5 KCR @ SEA L 1 4 4 19 (14-41)
2006 56 Tue Jun 6 KCR TEX L 2 6 4 19 (14-42)
2006 57 Wed Jun 7 KCR TEX L 2 4 4 19 (14-43)
2008 66 Wed Jun 11 KCR TEX L 5 11 4 19 (25-41)
2008 136 Sun Aug 31 KCR @ DET L 2 4 4 19 (57-79)
2013 50 Wed May 29 KCR @ StL L 3 5 4 19 (21-29)


So what does this say?

First, there are 6 distinct time periods to look at. They are:

5/6/05 - 5/11/05

8/15/05 - 8-30/05

6/5/06 - 6/7/06

6/11/08

8/31/08

5/29/13


The start of 2005 was, as we all remember, (or try to forget) brutal. 8-26 will get you to the bottom pretty fast. That streak included a few days where they had lost 19 of 23. Then of course the 19 game losing streak will never be forgotten. During that one, there were a few stretches where they actually managed to lose 20 out of 23. Then there was a quick stretch in June of 06 where more 19 out of 23 was had, and again for one day in June of 2008 and again on August 31, 2008 (before THE MIRACLE IN SEPTEMBER) and then, we have today.

Only once, ONCE, in the entire history of horrible Royals baseball (I am confident without looking it up that they never reached this low before 2004, but I may be wrong) has the team been playing worse than the current stretch. And that one time is when they lost 19 games in a row.

And just in case you're thinking "Well looks like Angel Berroa couldn't hit home runs in Kauffman Stadium either!" here's some parting wisdom:

Runs Scored during 5 stretches of 3-20 in Royals history:

93
89
85
79
77

Runs Scored during current 4-19 stretch:
78


Kill me now.

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker