FanPost

Dayton Moore: Failure

USA TODAY Sports



Dayton Moore has been in charge of the Kansas City Royals since 2006, which, for reference, was a whole year before the very first iPhone. Here we are in 2013, where there have been six versions of the iPhone and only one version of the Royals: bad. This is Moore's seventh full year on the job. The Royals are currently on pace for 76 wins, one whole win more than Moore's best in 2008, when The Dark Knight and Iron Man were the two top-grossing films at the box office. What does Moore have to say about this Process? Let's see:

2006: If you make enough good decisions, three-year plans turn into two-year plans and five-year plans turn into three-year plans. If you make bad decisions, 10-year plans turn into no plan.

2010: Our goal by 2013, 2014 is to have the majority of our 25-man roster be homegrown players. That’s what we’re shooting for, that’s been the long-term plan all along . . . Look what Colorado did, look what Minnesota did, look what the New York Yankees did. It took the Yankees seven years. Theycommitted to it in ’89, and finally in ’96 they won with homegrown guys. I’m not talking about getting to .500, I’m talking about winning the
World Series when I say eight to 10 years.”

2013: "When I came here (in 2006),” he said, “I told everybody this: ‘You ask anybody in baseball, whether (fans) want to believe it or not, unless we’re going to be a big-market club and go out and spend on multiple free agents a year, it’s an eight-to-10-year process to get this thing in a position where you’re competing to go to playoffs.'

Like any good slimy politician, Moore is carefully repositioning himself and his claims alongside the current happenings. Unfortunately for him, this is not 1984, and we have not always been at war with Eurasia. The internet remembers. Forever.

So, I attempted to find out if his claims were accurate. How long does it actually take for a team to turn it around and get to the playoffs? I went through every current team's history (hence no Expos) since 1990 and noted how many years it took from losing season to playoff birth. This is not a specific analysis; I do not examine how bad a team was, how good their playoff run was, factors in their improvement, payroll, etc. However, it is not meant to be. There are 23 years worth of data here, and in this time period there have been 59 times a team suffered a losing season and came back to the playoffs.


In addition to answering a general question about the 'turnaround' length for MLB teams, I also wanted to have more specific information about Moore's plight. How long do teams give a GM power? Therefore, for every data point wherein the team suffered an 8+ year gap between losing season and playoff run, I include the total amount of General Managers and managers employed by said team during that time period.

So, without further ado, the data. Under each team is listed, from oldest to newest, instances in which the team suffers a losing season (the first date) and gets to the postseason (the second date).

Arizona Diamondbacks

3 years: 2004-2007; 2 years: 2009-201

Atlanta Braves

4 years: 2006-2010

Baltimore Orioles

14 years: 1998-2012 (6 GM, 6 managers); 6 years: 1990-1996


Boston Red Sox

3 years: 1992-1995

Chicago Cubs

8 years: 1990-1998 (3 GM, 6 managers); 4 years: 1999-2003; 2 years: 2005-2007; 3+ years: 2010-

Chicago White Sox

5 years: 1995-2000; 1 year: 2007-2008; 4+ years: 2009-

Cincinnati Reds

4 years: 1991-1995; 13 years: 1997-2010 (4 GM, 8 managers); 1 year: 2011-2012

Cleveland Indians

5 years: 1990-1995; 5 years: 2002-2007; 4+ years: 2009-

Colorado Rockies

2 years: 1993-1995; 9 years: 1998-2007 (2 GM, 4 managers); 1 year: 2008-2009; 2+ years: 2011-

Detroit Tigers

16 years: 1990-2006 (6 GM, 7 managers); 3 years: 2008-2011


Houston Astros

7 years: 1990-1997; 1 year: 2001-2002; 6+ years: 2007-


Kansas City Royals

23+ years: 1990-

Los Angeles Angels

12 years: 1990-2002 (5 GM, 8 managers); 1 year: 2003-2004; 3+ years: 2010-

Los Angeles Dodgers

3 years: 1992-1995; 5 years: 1999-2004; 1 year: 2005-2006; 1 year: 2007-2008; 3+ years: 2010-

Miami/Florida Marlins

4 years: 1993-1997; 5 years: 1998-2003; 7+ years: 2006-

Milwaukee Brewers

18 years: 1990-2008 (4 GM; 7 managers); 2 years: 2009-2011

Minnesota Twins

2 years: 1989-1991; 9 years: 1993-2002 (2 GM; 2 managers); 2 years: 2007-2009; 2+ years: 2011-

New York Mets

8 years: 1991-1999 (4 GM; 5 managers); 4 years: 2002-2006; 4+ years: 2009- (NW)

New York Yankees

6 years: 1989-1995

Oakland Athletics

7 years: 1993-2000; 5 years: 2007-2012

Philadelphia Phillies

6 years: 1987-1993; 13 years: 1994-2007 (3 GM, 4 managers)

Pittsburgh Pirates

20+ years: 1990-


San Diego Pirates

6 years: 1990-1996; 1 year; 1997-1998; 6 years: 1999-2006; 5+ years: 2008-

San Francisco Giants

6 years: 1991-1997; 5 years: 2005-2010

Seattle Mariners

1 year: 1994-1995; 2 years: 1998-2000; 9+ years: 2004- (2 GM, 7 managers)

St. Louis Cardinals

6 years: 1990-1996; 3 years: 1997-200; 2 years: 2007-2009


Tampa Bay (Devil) Rays

10 years: 1998-2008 (2 GM, 4 managers)


Texas Rangers

4 years: 1992-1996; 1 year: 1997-1998; 10 years: 2000-2010 (3 GM, 4 managers)

Washington Nationals

6 years: 2006-2012

Some notes:

  • The average length between losing season and playoff season is 5.2 years.
  • The median length is 5 years.
  • The most frequent length is one year; however, much of those data points are good teams that had one poor season sandwiched between good ones. The second most frequent is 6 years.
  • In those instances where there was 8+ years between losing season and playoff berth, only one team, the Tampa Bay (Devil) Rays, employed less than 3 GMs during that time (and they employed 2).

From this data, I conclude that giving a GM a time of between 5-6 years is ample enough time to build a playoff contender. I understand and espouse using a medium to long term process in order to build a contender--as the data shows, many teams take between 4 and 6 years or so to become playoff contenders. Unfortunately for Moore, he has not done this and, furthermore, has not even accomplished a single winning season. This ultimately makes Moore a failure--but it also makes him a liar.

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker