FanPost

Recovery from TJ--The Class of 2012


Jon Roegele made a very important study concerning the history of Tommy John surgery, published in November of 2012 found here. Jon made a monumental effort tracking down the exact dates of the procedures, and researchers interested in recovery paths certainly need the starting dates in order to begin their studies. Roegele, building upon work by Jeff Zimmerman, has simplified this task. One will discover that Danny Duffy, for example, had his surgery on 6/13/12, which is helpful to know if one wants to study a case like that of Mr. Duffy.

Once we know the dates of the surgery, the next effort is to look up the individual players and discover when they were back on both minor league and major league pitching mounds. Minor League Central lists both minor league and major league game logs, and one should look here for Danny Duffy's 2013 efforts. Danny had his first minor league game post-surgery on 5/26/13, a bit more than eleven months after going under the knife. Duffy was back on a major league pitching mound on 8/7/13, just short of fourteen months after Tommy John surgery.

Problems exist for anyone estimating the recovery period from Tommy John surgery. First, it is assumed that medicine is improving and it is not exactly fair to compare current science with the earlier efforts, so one should probably take each yearly class of TJ separate from any other grouping. Second, it should be out-of-bounds to judge those later in a separate season class with those who had the procedure earlier in the year. No pitcher from the 2012 sample returned to the majors in 2013 if their operation occurred after 8/1/12. Third, only players with previous major league experience before the surgery should be expected to be pitching against the big boys after facing the scalpel for the following year, and probably only those with at least 50 combined major league innings for 2011 and 2012 should be eligible. Failure to have some arbitrary major league prior and recent innings experience would include prospects on the list who barely had a cup of coffee and veterans who had not seen the bright lights of the big cities for some long time and are probably over the hill.

Two guidelines for the Class of 2012 were used. First, the pitcher must have had his TJ on or before 8/1/12. Second, the pitcher must have thrown at least 50 major league innings sometime during 2011 and 2012. With these considerations, sixteen pitchers qualified. Sadly, 25% of the qualifying pitchers were members of the Kansas City Royals. I will list the pitchers by rate of fastest recovery in 2013.

1. Mike Pelfrey. Surgery 5/1/12. Major Leagues 4/4/13. No Minor Leagues. About 11 months for the majors.

2. Charlie Morton. Surgery 6/21/12. MiL 4/18/13. ML 6/13/13. About 10 months for the minors, but about 12 months for the majors.

3-4. Brandon Beachy and Luis Perez. (Beachy TJ 6/21/12, MiL 5/24/13, ML 7/29/13). Perez TJ 7/17/12, MiL 6/10/13, ML 9/4/13). Both took about 11 months for the minors and 13 months for the majors. Update: Beachy will require a second TJ (3/2014), Perez was dropped from the Jays' 40 man (3/2014), having had scar tissue removed from his elbow over the winter.

5. Neftali Feliz. TJ 8/1/12. MiL 8/2/13. ML 9/1/13. About 12 months for the minors and 13 months for the majors.

6. Danny Duffy. TJ 6/13/12. MiL 5/26/13. ML 8/7/13. About 11 months for the minors and 14 months for the majors.

7. Blake Wood. TJ 5/25/12. MiL 5/4/13. ML 9/2/13. About 11 months for the minors and 15 months for the majors.

8. Kyle Drabek. TJ 6/19/12. MiL 6/22/13. ML 9/7/13. About 12 months for the minors and 15 months for the majors. Drabek had previous experience with Tommy John surgery while back in high school.

9. Joakim Soria. TJ 4/3/12. MiL 6/20/13. ML 7/7/13. About 15 months for the minors and about 15 months for the majors. Soria had previous experience with Tommy John surgery.

10. Brian Wilson. TJ 4/19/12. MiL 7/31/13. ML 8/22/13. About 15 months for the minors and 16 months for the majors. Wilson had previous experience with Tommy John surgery.

11. Felipe Paulino. TJ 7/3/12. MiL 6/11/13. No majors. About 11 months for the minors. Reached AAA.

12. David Herndon. TJ 6/19/12, MiL 6/22/13. No majors. About 12 months for the minors. Reached AAA.

13. Scott Baker. TJ 4/17/12. MiL 7/14/13. No majors. About 15 months for the minors. Reached A+ ball.

14. Daniel Hudson. TJ 7/9/12. MiL 6/4/13. No majors. About 11 months for the minors, but only threw two innings in his one game and required another TJ (2013) after his effort.

15. Ryan Madson. TJ 4/11/12. MiL 5/13/13. No majors. About 13 months for the minors, but only threw one inning in his one game and was finished for the season due to complications from his 2012 TJ surgery. Update: Madson is still a free agent looking for work.

16. Cory Luebke. TJ 5/23/12. No majors. No minors. Luebke required another TJ (2014) after his 2012 procedure.

It appears that no sure timetable can be set for the recovery from Tommy John surgery and that each case is somewhat unique. For one Mike Pelfrey, someone might mention Cory Luebke.

Kansas City was unfortunate in losing valued members from their pitching staff to elbow woes in 2012. The Royals achieved recoveries better than some cases, so there remains hope for Luke Hochevar.

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker