FanPost

Missing Cylinder Billy Butler.

Here is a quick Billy Butler timeline:

2010. Billy Butler never goes 10 games in a row without at least one extra base hit.

2011. Billy Butler never goes 10 games in a row without at least one extra base hit.

July 1, 2012. Billy Butler is named to the All Star Team.

July 2, 2012. Billy Butler is not named to the Home Run Derby.

July 1, 2012. On the same day Butler is named to the All Star Team, Billy begins a stretch of 11 games in a row without at least one extra base hit.

May 2013. Billy Butler goes 12 games in a row without at least one extra base hit. The Royals flop.

July-August 2013. Billy Butler goes 11 games in a row without at least one extra base hit.

August-September 2013. Billy Butler goes 13 games in a row without at least one extra base hit.

March-April 2014. Billy Butler starts the season by going 10 games in a row without at least one extra base hit.

Over his last 271 at bats (starting with his July-August 2013 slide), Billy Butler has managed 7 doubles and 6 homeruns, slugging all of .380. The average American League hitter slugged .404 last year. Billy's 7 doubles figures out to 9 doubles if extended to 351 at bats. Brett Hayes has 351 career at bats with 25 doubles.

Billy Butler's doubles have decreased each and every year since 2009. Butler's lack of extra base hits might be more complex than some small 2014 sample.

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker