2014 MLB Royals Draft: The Mocks

A look at some of the mock drafts and who they have the Royals taking.

While we get closer and closer to the draft, the mock drafts start to ramp up. Here are some of the major sites, and some minor ones, and who they think the Royals will take.

These lists can be outdated quickly as Law, BA, and MLB generally do a mock draft on draft day or the day prior, but below is the most recent for them as well as a quick blurb about the pick.

Keith Law (ESPN.com) (5/27/14):

#17 Derek Fisher OF Virginia

I've heard they're not on Bradley Zimmer that much, but they are intrigued with high-risk/high-ceiling guys like Michael Gettys, possibly in the supplemental first round.

John Mayo/Jim Callis (MLB.com) (5/30/14):

#17 Derek Hill OF Elk Grove HS, CA

There may not be any Draft prospect with more helium right now than Hill, a toolsy high school outfielder and the son of Dodgers scout Orsino Hill. It isn't out of the question that a team above this spot bites on his potential.

#28 Spencer Adams RHP White County HS, GA

A high school athlete at 17 and a projectable (and also very athletic) prep right-hander here? The Royals could split it up and go for an advanced college player, but Adams' upside intrigues them.

Baseball America (6/01/14):

#17 Erick Fedde RHP UNLV

With two picks in the first round (the next at No. 28), the Royals can be aggressive, as they were last year in taking shortstop Hunter Dozier early (No. 8 overall) so they could get lefthander Sean Manaea at No. 34. This draft definitely has its share of banged-up pitchers, most notably Hoffman and UNLV’s Erick Fedde, so if they’re worried one won’t slip through then they could take him here.

#28 Kodi Medeiros LHP Waiakea HS, Hawaii

Kansas City would love this scenario, with Hawaiian high school southpaw Kodi Medeiros dropping to their second selection, and this year it looks like taking the health risk with upside (in this case Fedde at No. 17) first may be the way to go. The Braves also are believed to be in on Medeiros, who hit 96 mph in two mid-May starts.

Matt Garrioch (Minor League Ball) (5/19/14):

#17 Tyler Beede RHP Vanderbilt

Beede doesn't seem to have a good fit this year. I've seen him hit 96 and sit 93-94. He has a great change and a curveball that could be an out pitch but he has command issues. A talent like his should go higher than a guy with lesser stuff like Weaver, so I'm putting him here, although they have had success with Weaver's in the past.

#28 Kodi Medeiros LHP Waiakea HS, Hawaii

The Royals have three picks early and could do something interesting with the pick like they did last year. Either way, taking Medeiros could be a good fit because of the crazy potential and the fact they have extra pick if he does bust, he isn't the only big pick in their draft.

#40 Jakson Reetz C/OF Norris HS, NE

This could go a variety of ways but taking a player from the midwest and someone who could play muliple positions with a strong bat could be a good fit.

Kiley McDaniel (Scout.com) (5/30/14):

#17 Grant Holmes RHP Conway HS, SC

KC is hot after power arms, with Hawaiian prep lefty Kodi Medeiros one of the top targets, though most believe they'll wait until their next pick to pop him. Holmes is a great value here with Touki, Newcomb, Finnegan, Luis Ortiz, injured UNLV righty Erick Fedde and Reid-Foley all in play along with risky prep bats Michael Gettys and Jacob Gatewood. This is also the first spot where Forrest Wall is in play.

#28 Kodi Medeiros LHP Waiakea HS, HI

Medeiros is heavily-rumored at this pick and this is his most likely landing spot, as the other team after him, the Reds, are at the next pick and would likely take him there if he's on the board. Gatewood, Gettys, Derek Fisher, Forrest Wall and Spencer Adams have all been tied to the Royals here, as well.

Chris Crawford (MLB Draft Insider) (5/28/14):

#17 Derek Fisher OF Virginia

The Royals have mostly been attached to college bats, and I think they’d go with Fisher in this scenario over Schwarber and Casey Gillaspie.

#28 Kodi Medeiros LHP Waiakea HS, HI

#40 Luke Weaver RHP Florida State

Baseball Prospectus (5/27/14):

#17 Trea Turner SS NC State

Just a year ago there was chatter about how North Carolina State could have the first two players selected in the 2014 draft in left-hander Carlos Rodon and shortstop Trea Turner. There is no doubt that Turner’s stock has fallen, but he really hasn’t had a bad spring at all, hitting .318-8-28 with 22 extra base hits, 36 walks and 24 stolen bases while making only nine errors. If Turner falls this far, the Royals, who have always struggled to develop middle infielders, could have a steal.

#28 Jacob Gatewood SS Clovis HS, CA

The Royals went with their shortstop of the future with their first pick in North Carolina State’s Trea Turner. They’re going to double up with high school shortstop Jacob Gatewood with their next pick, although if Gatewood hits to his ceiling it won’t really matter what position he plays.

So as you can see the Royals first pick is rather indecisive by the media, but the second pick is almost unanimous in the prep left Medeiros. What would be really fun for the Royals is if Medeiros is taken prior to their 28th pick and they are forced to shuffle their board just a bit.

I want a bat with the Royals first pick and I think Derek Fisher would be good there. I'm also excited that Kiley, who's probably second on my favorite prospect evaluator list, has the Royals attached to Forrest Wall possibly. Wall is easily my favorite prep bat in the class and my favorite late first round pick.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker