Is Dayton Moore running out of rope?

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Has the true upper limit of the budget been reached?

As the season approaches the trade deadline, we've all done some spelunking. We all want Dayton to search through that cave to find the Batman that will offer the Royals the most value as they slowly struggle toward the lake at the bottom of the cave. However, it's possible that Dayton's run right out of rope.


This is pure spelunkulation on my part, but I think Dayton's at the top of the budget. I don't think Mr. Glass will shatter in response to Dayton's platitudes to trade for David Price or some other expensive dude. Let's look at the trading transactions this season.

4/10/14 - Royals trade CF Gorkys Hernandez to the Chicago White Sox for cash considerations.

5/26/14 - Royals trade CF Melky Mesa and RHP P.J. Walters to the Toronto Blue Jays for cash considerations.

6/6/14 - Royals trade LHP Justin Marks to the Oakland Athletics for cash considerations.

6/25/14 - Royals trade RHP Cody Fassold to the Atlanta Braves for cash considerations.

6/30/14 - Royals trade LHP Donnie Joseph to the Miami Marlins for cash considerations.

Granted, as the trade deadline approaches, activity heats up. This could be related to just minor transaction business during the year, and cash considerations aren't much money. If I'm not mistaken, the requirements for cash considerations to be the return of a trade stipulate that the amount changing hands must be less than one million dollars. But it sure seems like Dayton's trying to gather cash assets in order to make an upgrade. Let's look at the players Dayton has acquired so far this season.

4/12/14 - Royals sign RHP Kameron Loe to a minor league contract.

4/14/14 - Royals sign LF Cory Scammell to a minor league contract.

4/15/14 - Royals sign RHP Casey Coleman to a minor league contract.

5/1/14 - Royals sign OF Mitch Maier to a minor league contract. Summer camp has its favorite camper back.

5/28/14 - Royals sign C Max Ramirez to a minor league contract.

6/30/14 - Royals sign OF Raul Ibanez.

7/4/14 - Royals sign SS Paul Janish to a minor league contract.

7/6/14 - Royals sign LHP Scott Downs.

7/8/14 - Royals sign LHP Joe Saunders to a minor league contract.

A bunch of minor league contracts and two major league contracts. Not inspiring, cash considerations considered. The rumors were that the Royals were looking to upgrade in the outfield and in the bullpen. They really found some off-the-beaten-path diversions by signing Ibanez and Downs to fill those holes.

Probably, those minor league signings were routine additions for depth. The Saunders signing doesn't feel like that, given his previous major league experience, but it was indeed a minor league contract. Regardless, there were holes. In order to fill these holes, Dayton had to sell off a bunch of players to cobble the money together for marginal upgrades. In Ibanez's case, maybe a downgrade. Notice that Dayton has not brought any players TO the team through trades. I find that curious. Mayhaps the Royals can't afford anyone on the trade market right now?

There are still 22 days left in this trading period, so it's possible that we haven't seen Dayton enact his master plan. Maybe Dayton's got some extra rope hanging around in his spelunkpack, and he's waiting for the right moment to use it. Dayton's got the minor league assets to make a trade; all it would take to get an impact player is for Mr. Glass to offer more rope.

Or Mr. Glass could cut the rope.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Join Royals Review

You must be a member of Royals Review to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Royals Review. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker