clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Gordon wins Platinum Gold Glove Award

I don't know what it is, but it sounds awesome.

Jamie Squire

The accolades continue to pile up for Alex Gordon, as he was given the Platinum Gold Glove Award at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award ceremony Friday in New York. The Platinum Gold Glove, which I was not aware was a real thing, is given to the league's top defender at any position. The National League winner was St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina.

According to a news release, the winner is determined by combining votes based on an adjusted SABR Defensive Index and fan voting.

Read more here:

Royals catcher Salvador Perez was the runner-up in voting to Gordon. This is the fourth year Rawlings has handed out a Platinum Gold Glove. Last year's American League winner was Manny Machado, with Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre winning the award its first two seasons.

Gordon won his fourth consecutive Gold Glove this season for his play in left-field.