clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Royals named finalists for Gold Gloves

Lorenzo Cain gets snubbed

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Rawlings unveiled their finalists for the 2015 Gold Glove Awards today and numerous Royals were represented.

Salvador Perez is a finalist for third time, having won the last two Gold Gloves in the American League at catcher. Perez was second among all AL catchers in Defensive Runs Above Average and second in Defensive Runs Saved. Sal had just four passed balls all season, and only Toronto's Russell Martin threw out more would-be base-stealers among American League catchers. Perez is up against Martin and Astros catcher Jason Castro.

Eric Hosmer is nominated for a third consecutive season, having won Gold Gloves at first base in 2013 and 2014. He is up against Yankees five-time winner Mark Teixeira, who appeared in just 111 games, and Mike Napoli, who split time between Boston and Texas and started just 101 games at first base.

Alcides Escobar was a finalist in 2013 and 2014, but is still looking for his first Gold Glove. He is up this year against Boston's Xander Boegarts and New York's Didi Gregorius. Alcides Escobar was third among league shortstops in Defensive Runs Above Average, trailing only Gregorius and Indians rookie Francisco Lindor.

Alex Gordon is a four-time Gold Glove winner, winning every year from 2011-2014. He will face Yoenis Cespedes, who spent time with the Tigers before being traded to the Mets, and New York's Brett Gardner. Gordon was fifth in Defensive Runs Saved among left-fielders, despite missing two months with a groin injury.

Lorenzo Cain was not nominated for a Gold Glove in centerfield. Kevin Kiermaier of the Rays and Kevin Pillar of the Blue Jays were both very deserving finalists, but Mike Trout of the Angels appears to be a dubious selection over Cain. Cain was second among all league centerfielders in both Defensive Runs Saved and Defensive Runs Above Average.

Mike Moustakas was not nominated for a Gold Glove at third. Instead, the award will be up between Adrian Beltre, Evan Longoria, and Manny Machado. At second base, the award is between Houston's Jose Altuve, Detroit's Ian Kinsler, and Minnesota's Brian Dozier. At right field, the finalists are Detroit's J.D. Martinez, Los Angeles's Kory Calhoun, and Oakland's Josh Reddick. The pitchers up for a Gold Glove are Toronto's Mark Buerhle, Houston's Dallas Keuchel and Oakland's Sonny Gray.

Winners will be announced November 10 at 6 p.m. on ESPN.