clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Royals win Gold Gloves, Alex Gordon snubbed

Did Alex's groin injury hurt his chances?

Marilyn Indahl-USA TODAY Sports

Salvador Perez, fresh off a championship and "Tonight Show" appearance, won his third consecutive Gold Glove Award, as announced on ESPN Tuesday night. The World Series MVP second among all AL catchers in Defensive Runs Above Average and second in Defensive Runs Saved. Sal had just four passed balls all season, and only Toronto's Russell Martin threw out more would-be base-stealers among American League catchers. Perez won the award over fellow finalists Martin and Astros catcher Jason Castro.

Eric Hosmer won his third consecutive Gold Glove Award, beating out New York's Mark Texeira and Mike Napoli, who split time with Boston and Texas. The pool of slick-fielding first baseman is rather shallow at this point, although Angels first baseman Albert Pujols was a notable omission. Hosmer rates as a fairly average first baseman by the metrics, but has wowed fans and writers with slick-fielding plays.

Alcides Escobar won his first ever Gold Glove Award after being named a finalist in 2013 and 2014. Escobar beat out Boston's Xander Bogaerts and New York's Didi Gregorious to win the award. Escobar was third among American League shortstops in Defensive Runs Above Average trailing only Gregorious and Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor.

Not winning a Gold Glove was four-time winner in left-field Alex Gordon. Gordon missed two months with a groin injury but winner Yoenis Cespedes was traded to the National League in July. Cespedes enjoyed a monster season offensively however, which seems to affect voting. Also up for the award was Yankees outfielder Brett Gardner. Gordon was fifth among American League left-fielders in Defensive Runs Saved.

Lorenzo Cain was not named as a finalist, surprisingly, snubbed in favor of Angels outfielder Mike Trout. Trout would lose to Rays outfielder Kevin Kiermaier. Other American League Gold Glove winners included Houston's Jose Altuve at second, Baltimore's Manny Machado at third, Los Angeles' Kole Calhoun in right field, and Houston's Dallas Keuchel at pitcher. National League winners were St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina, Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, Marlins second baseman Dee Gordon, Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado, Giants shortstop Brandon Crawford, Pirates left fielder Starling Marte, Diamondbacks center fielder A.J. Pollock, Cardinals right fielder Jason Heyward and Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke.