clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Perez, Hosmer, Gordon up for Gold Glove Awards tonight

The Royals look to add to their hardware.

Oakland Athletics v Kansas City Royals Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Three Royals were named finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, announced today. Salvador Perez, Eric Hosmer, and Alex Gordon are all multiple Gold Glove Award winners who will look to add to their collection after another stellar season in the field.

Salvador Perez has been nominated for a Gold Glove for the fourth time. He has won the previous three times, from 2013 to 2015. Detroit Tigers catcher James McCann and Los Angeles Angels catcher Carlos Perez are the other finalists.

Perez led all catchers with at least 100 games played in caught stealing percentage, nabbing 48% of would-be basestealers. He also led all catchers in Defensive Runs Above Average and tied with Buster Posey for most Defensive Wins Above Replacement value among catchers.

Eric Hosmer has been nominated for the fifth time for a Gold Glove at first base. He has won the last three Gold Gloves at that position. Mitch Moreland of the Rangers and Chris Davis of the Orioles are the other nominees.

Hosmer has been a controversial player defensively, with the metrics rating him as the worst defensive first baseman in the game, while fans, coaches, and players marvel at his scooping ability and slick fielding. The metrics agree that Hosmer excels at scooping, but do not value that skill as much as range, where Hosmer rates poorly. Positioning could be the main culprit for why Eric Hosmer’s range rates so poorly in metrics.

Alex Gordon had a rough year at the plate, but was outstanding in the field. He is nominated for a Gold Glove for left field, joining New York’s Brett Gardner and Houston’s Colby Rasmus. Gordon was second in the American League only to Rasmus in Defensive Runs Above Average in left field. Rasmus, however, only played 672 innings in left field, compared to 1,100 by Gordon. Alex won five Gold Gloves every year from 2011 to 2014. Injuries prevented him from winning last year, when it went to Yoenis Cespedes.

Alcides Escobar, who won the Gold Glove at shortstop last year, was not a finalist this year. Cleveland’s Francisco Lindor, Detroit’s Jose Iglesias, and Los Angeles’ Andrelton Simmons will vie for the Gold Glove at shortstop.

Detroit’s Ian Kinsler, Boston’s Dustin Pedroia, and Seattle’s Robinson Cano are the American League finalists for a Gold Glove at second base. The third base finalists are Baltimore’s Manny Machado, Seattle’s Kyle Seager, and Texas’ Adrian Beltre. Center field finalists include Boston’s Jackie Bradley, Jr., Tampa Bay’s Kevin Kiermaier, and Toronto’s Kevin Pillar. In right field, Boston’s Mookie Betts, Chicago’s Adam Eaton, and Houston’s George Springer will all try to win their first Gold Glove. Detroit’s Justin Verlander, Houston’s Dallas Keuchel, and Toronto’s R.A. Dickey are the finalist at pitcher.

Only Frank White with his eight awards has more Gold Gloves in franchise history than Alex Gordon, Eric Hosmer, and Salvador Perez. The Gold Glove winners will be announced live on ESPN on November 8 at 7pm CT.