clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Royals announce 2017 spring training schedule

New, 2 comments

91 days until pitchers and catchers report

Texas Rangers v Kansas City Royals Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The Royals announced their 2017 spring training schedule today, with pitchers and catchers to report to Surprise, Arizona on February 14 and the first full squad work out a few days later on February 18. The Royals will open their spring training exhibition schedule against the Texas Rangers on February 25. The Royals will play 35 exhibition games, including a matchup on March 8 against the Venezuelan National Team as they tune up for the 2017 World Baseball Classic.

The Royals will play the defending world champion Chicago Cubs in Surprise on March 1 and 19. They take on the defending American League champs, the Cleveland Indians, on March 11 and 18. They will play their first night game on Friday, March 10 against the Oakland Athletics in Surprise. The Royals will end their exhibition schedule with a pair of games March 31 and April 1 in Global Life Park in Arlington, Texas. They open the regular season on Monday, April 3 in Target Field in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

You can find more spring training information and ticket details at the Royals spring training website. All times listed are Central Time.

Date Day Opponent Location Time
25-Feb Saturday at Rangers Surprise 2:05
26-Feb Sunday vs.Rangers Surprise 2:05
27-Feb Monday at Mariners Peoria 2:05
28-Feb Tuesday at Brewers Maryvale 2:05
1-Mar Wednesday vs.Cubs Surprise 2:05
2-Mar Thursday vs.Rockies Surprise 2:05
3-Mar Friday at Dodgers Glendale 2:05
4-Mar Saturday vs.Giants Surprise 2:05
at Reds Goodyear 2:05
5-Mar Sunday at Giants Scottsdale 2:05
6-Mar Monday vs.Diamondbacks Surprise 2:05
7-Mar Tuesday at Reds Goodyear 2:05
8-Mar Wednesday vs.Venezuela Surprise 2:05
9-Mar Thursday OFF
10-Mar Friday vs.Athletics Surprise 7:05
11-Mar Saturday at Indians Goodyear 2:05
12-Mar Sunday vs.Dodgers Surprise 3:05
13-Mar Monday at Rockies Scottsdale 3:10
14-Mar Tuesday vs.Angels Surprise 3:05
15-Mar Wednesday at White Sox Glendale 3:05
16-Mar Thursday vs.Mariners Surprise 3:05
at Padres Peoria 3:10
17-Mar Friday at Brewers Maryvale 3:05
18-Mar Saturday vs.Indians Surprise 3:05
19-Mar Sunday at Cubs Mesa 3:05
20-Mar Monday vs.Reds Surprise 3:05
21-Mar Tuesday at Diamondbacks Scottsdale 3:10
22-Mar Wednesday vs.Padres Surprise 3:05
23-Mar Thursday OFF
24-Mar Friday at Mariners Peoria 3:10
25-Mar Saturday vs.Brewers Surprise 3:05
26-Mar Sunday at Angels Tempe 3:10
27-Mar Monday at Athletics Mesa 3:05
28-Mar Tuesday vs.White Sox Surprise 3:02
29-Mar Wednesday vs.Rangers Surprise 2:05
30-Mar Thursday OFF
31-Mar Friday at Rangers Arlington, TX 7:05
1-Apr Saturday at Rangers Arlington, TX 1:05