clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Perez, Hosmer, Herrera, Davis named to the All-Star team

Ned Yost will lead the American League squad.

Frank Victores-USA TODAY Sports

Salvador Perez topped all All-Star vote-getters in the American League as he was named to his fourth consecutive All-Star Game, his third consecutive as a starter. Perez leads all American League catchers in virtually every offensive category, as well as WAR, according to Fangraphs. The 26-year old is hitting .277/.311/.483 with 12 HR 37 RBI and has thrown out 52% of would-be basestealers.

Eric Hosmer will attend his first-ever All-Star Game, after being voted in to start at first base. Hosmer is hitting .303/.361/.490 with 13 HR 49 RBI. He leads all American League first basemen in batting average. The other American League starters will be second baseman Jose Altuve of the Astros, shortstop Xander Boegarts, and outfielders Jackie Bradley Jr. and Mookie Betts of the Red Sox, third baseman Manny Machado of the Baltimore Orioles, outfielder Mike Trout of the Angels, and designated hitter David Ortiz of the Red Sox.

Kelvin Herrera was named to the team as a reserve. He was named to his first All-Star Game last season. The 26-year old reliever has a 1.40 ERA and 11.4 strikeout-per-nine innings, and is fourth among AL relievers in WAR, according to Fangraphs

Wade Davis was named to his second All-Star team, but will not play due to an injury. Davis was voted in by the players and has a 1.23 ERA with 19 saves.

In the National League, the entire starting infield is from the Chicago Cubs, including former Royals infielder Ben Zobrist. Joining Zobrist from Chicago will be third baseman Kris Bryant, shortstop Addison Russell, and first baseman Anthony Rizzo. Other starters include catcher Buster Posey of the Giants, and outfielders Bryce Harper of the Nationals, Dexter Fowler of the Cubs, and Yoenis Cespedes of the Mets.

Last year the Royals sent a franchise-record six players to the All-Star Game. The American League All-Star team will be managed by Ned Yost. The All-Star Game will be held in San Diego on Tuesday, July 12 and will be broadcast on FOX.