clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Hall of Fame vote includes two former Royals and a stacked ballot

Unlikely that Miguel Tejada or Rick Ankiel get in - or that you remember they were Royals.

Oakland Athletics v Kansas City Royals

The Baseball Hall of Fame has released their 2019 ballot and once again it is absolutely loaded with talent. Last years saw a big class get inducted - Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman, Chipper Jones, Jim Thome, as well as “Today’s Game” Committee inductees Jack Morris and Alan Trammell. But that didn’t exactly clear the logjam, as this year’s ballot includes holdovers like Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Edgar Martinez, Fred McGriff, Mike Mussina, Manny Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, and Larry Walker. This will be the tenth and final year of consideration for Edgar Martinez and Fred McGriff.

The new members of the ballot are headlined by Mariano Rivera, who seems like a slam-dunk to get in, establishing himself as the best closer to ever play the game. Other top candidates include pitchers Roy Halladay, Roy Oswalt, and Andy Pettitte, and first baseman Todd Helton. Two former Royals are on the ballot - outfielder Rick Ankiel and infielder Miguel Tejada, although both had very short stints in Kansas City.

The other players on the ballot for the first time include Jason Bay, Freddy Garcia, Jon Garland, Travis Hafner, Ted lilly, Derek Lowe, Darren Oliver, Juan Pierre, Placido Polanco, Vernon Wells, Kevin Youkilis, and Michael Young.

To be on the ballot, a player must have spent ten seasons in Major League Baseball, and a committee finalizes the ballot. A player must be voted on by 75 percent of all ballots to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Writers will turn in their ballots by December 31 with an announcement made on inductions on January 22, 2019.

You can only vote up to ten players on your ballot, who do you have going into the Hall of Fame?