clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Gordon finalist for Gold Glove Award

The six-time Gold Glover can win some more hardware.

Kansas City Royals v New York Yankees Photo by Rob Tringali/SportsChrome/Getty Images

Six-time Gold Glover Alex Gordon has a chance to win one more for his mantle, as he was named a finalist for the 2019 Gold Glove Award for Left Field, revealed by Rawlings today. Gordon was second among all American League left-fielders in Ultimate Zone Rating, according to Fangraphs (min. 500 innings) and was third among left-fielders with seven assists. Gordon previously won Gold Gloves every season from 2011 through 2014, and again in 2017 and 2018. Gordon will be up against Robbie Grossman of the Oakland Athletics and Andrew Benintendi of the Boston Red Sox. Only Frank White has won more Gold Gloves in Royals history, with eight.

There will be a new Gold Glove winner in the American League at catcher, with Salvador Perez not making it a finalist, snubbed for no other reason that the fact he did not play a single game this year. Instead, the finalists are Danny Jansen of the Blue Jays, Christian Vázquez of the Red Sox, and Roberto Pérez, Indians. Adalberto Mondesi and Whit Merrifield were not named as finalists at shortstop and second base, respectively. Instead, the finalists at shortstop will be Marcus Semien of the Athletics, Andrelton Simmons of the Angels, and Francisco Lindor of the Indians. At second base, it will be José Altuve of the Astros, DJ LeMahieu of the Yankees, and Yolmer Sánchez of the White Sox.

Former Royals outfielder Lorenzo Cain has a chance to win his first Gold Glove, as he was named a Gold Glove finalist in center field with the Brewers, along with Victor Robles of the Nationals and Harrison Bader of the Cardinals. Former Royals pitcher Zack Greinke is also a finalist at pitcher in the National League and will be looking for his sixth consecutive award.

2019 Gold Glove Finalist

American League Team National League Team
American League Team National League Team
Catcher Catcher
Danny Jansen Blue Jays Austin Hedges Padres
Roberto Pérez Indians Yadier Molina Cardinals
Christian Vázquez Red Sox J.T. Realmuto Phillies
First Base First Base
Yuli Gurriel Astros Paul Goldschmidt Cardinals
Matt Olson Athletics Anthony Rizzo Cubs
Justin Smoak Blue Jays Christian Walker Diamondbacks
Second Base Second Base
José Altuve Astros Ozzie Albies Braves
DJ LeMahieu Yankees Adam Frazier Pirates
Yolmer Sánchez White Sox Kolten Wong Cardinals
Third Base Third Base
Alex Bregman Astros Nolan Arenado Rockies
Matt Chapman Athletics Josh Donaldson Braves
David Fletcher Angels Anthony Rendon Nationals
Shortstop Shortstop
Francisco Lindor Indians Nick Ahmed Diamondbacks
Marcus Semien Athletics Paul DeJong Cardinals
Andrelton Simmons Angels Trevor Story Rockies
Left Field Left Field
Andrew Benintendi Red Sox David Peralta Diamondbacks
Alex Gordon Royals Hunter Renfroe Padres
Robbie Grossman Athletics Juan Soto Nationals
Center Field Center Field
Jackie Bradley, Jr. Red Sox Harrison Bader Cardinals
Kevin Kiermaier Rays Lorenzo Cain Brewers
Mike Trout Angels Victor Robles Nationals
Right Field Right Field
Mookie Betts Red Sox Cody Bellinger Dodgers
Kole Calhoun Angels Bryce Harper Phillies
Josh Reddick Astros Cubs
Pitcher Pitchers
José Berríos Twins Jack Flaherty Cardinals
Lucas Giolito White Sox Zack Greinke Diamondbacks
Mike Leake Mariners Aaron Nola Phillies