clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Derek Jeter, former Royals outfielder Raúl Ibañez among first-time Hall of Fame candidates

New, 51 comments

Also, a guy named Derek Jeter.

Kansas City Royals v Arizona Diamondbacks

Former Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter headlines 18 new Hall of Fame candidate class for the Hall of Fame in a ballot released by the Baseball Writers of America today. Jeter seems likely to be inducted on the first ballot after a legendary 20-year career that included 3,465 hits, 14 All-Star Games, five Gold Gloves, and four championship rings.

Former Royals outfielder Raúl Ibañez is also on the ballot for the first time. Ibañez enjoyed a 19-year career that included four seasons with the Royals, in which he hit .272/.335/.465 with 305 home runs and 20.4 WAR.

Other first-timers on the ballot include Bobby Abreu, Josh Beckett, Heath Bell, Eric Chavez, Adam Dunn, Chone Figins, Rafael Furcal, Jason Giambi, Paul Konerko, Cliff Lee, Carlos Peña, Brad Penny, J.J. Putz, Brian Roberts, Alfonso Soriano, and José Valverde. To be on the ballot, a player must have spent ten years in the big leagues and be selected, and a screening committee chooses from that list which players will be on the ballot.

Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, and Barry Bonds will all be on the ballot again after receiving more than half the vote last year, but controversies for each have kept them out of Cooperstown so far. This will be the tenth and final time on the ballot for outfielder Larry Walker, who also received 50 percent of the vote last year. Other candidates who will be on the ballot again include Todd Helton, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Omar Vizuel, and Billy Wagner.

A player must be on 75 percent of ballots to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. A player must be on five percent of ballots to be considered on next year’s ballot, unless they have been on ten ballots already. Last year, Mariano Rivera, Edgar Martinez, Roy Halladay, and Mike Mussina were selected by the BBWAA to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Who would be on your Hall of Fame ballot?