clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Gordon, Nicky Lopez named finalists for Gold Glove award

Turns out Nicky Lopez is a finalist too!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Chicago White Sox v Kansas City Royals Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Alex Gordon has been named a finalist for the American League Gold Glove Award in left field, giving him a chance to win his eighth Gold Glove of his career. If Gordon would win, he would tie Frank White for most Gold Gloves in club history.

Gordon led American League left-fielders in Defensive Runs Above Average, according to Fangraphs, was tops in Outfield Arm Runs, and second in assists. Other finalists in left field include Lourdes Gurriel, Jr. of the Blue Jays and Kyle Tucker of the Astros. Gordon has won seven Gold Gloves, earning the award in 2011-2014, and 2017-2019. There have only been 13 outfielders in baseball history to win as many as eight Gold Gloves.

Updated: According to Jeffrey Flanagan, Nicky Lopez was not initially named a finalist, but is in fact a finalist!

Lopez graded well among most defensive metrics, and will be up against César Hernández of the Indians, Danny Mendick of the White Sox, and Jonathan Schoop of the Tigers.

A notable omission from the list of finalists was Salvador Pérez. Salvy is a five-time Gold Glove winner, winning ever year from 2013 to 2016, and in 2018. He was limited to just 37 games due to a vision problem, and he did have a down year, according to limited defensive metrics. Salvy ranked 10th out of 14 American League catchers in Defensive Runs Above Average, according to Fangraphs, and caught three out of eleven would-be basestealers for a 27 percent caught stealing rate, his lowest numbers in that category since his rookie year. The American League finalists at catcher are Yasmani Grandal and James McCann of the White Sox, and Roberto Perez of the Indians.

Because of the compressed season, the award qualifications this year was based solely on SABR Defensive Index. Notable, the Tampa Bay Rays did not have any finalists, despite leading all of baseball in Defensive Runs Above Average.

The winners will be named on Tuesday, November 3, on ESPN at 7 p.m. ET. Here is a full list of finalists:

American League

Pitcher: Griffin Canning (LAA), Kenta Maeda (MIN), Zach Plesac (CLE)

Catcher: Yasmani Grandal (CHW), James McCann (CHW), Roberto Perez (CLE)

First base: Yuli Gurriel (HOU), Matt Olson (OAK), Evan White (SEA)

Second base: César Hernández (CLE), Nicky Lopez (KCR), Danny Mendick (CHW), Jonathan Schoop (DET)

Third base: Isiah Kiner-Falefa (TEX), Yoan Moncada (CHW), Gio Urshela (NYY)

Shortstop: Carlos Correa (HOU), J.P. Crawford (SEA), Niko Goodrum (DET)

Left field: Alex Gordon (KCR), Lourdes Gurriel, Jr. (TOR), Kyle Tucker (HOU)

Center field: Byron Buxton (MIN), Ramón Laureano (OAK), Luis Robert (CHW)

Right field: Clint Frazier (NYY), Joey Gallo (TEX), Anthony Santander (BAL)

National League

Pitcher: Max Fried (ATL), Kyle Hendricks (CHC), Alec Mills (CHC)

Catcher: Tucker Barnhart (CIN), Willson Contreras (CHC), Jacob Stallings (PIT)

First base: Brandon Belt (SDP), Paul Goldschmidt (STL), Anthony Rizzo (CHC)

Second base: Adam Frazier (PIT), Nico Hoerner (CHC), Kolten Wong (STL)

Third base: Brian Anderson (MIA), Nolan Arenado (COL), Manny Machado (SDP)

Shortstop: Javier Báez (CHC), Miguel Rojas (MIA), Dansby Swanson (ATL)

Left field: Shogo Akiyama (CIN), Tyler O’Neill (STL), David Peralta (ARI)

Center field: Ronald Acuña, Jr. (ATL), Cody Bellinger (LAD), Trent Grisham (SDP)

Right field: Mookie Betts (LAD), Charlie Blackmon (COL), Jason Heyward (CHC)