clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Salvador Perez wins Silver Slugger Award, Alex Gordon takes Gold Glove

Royals bring home some hardware this week.

Detroit Tigers v Kansas City Royals Photo by Ed Zurga/Getty Images

Two Royals were honored with end-of-the-year awards this week with Alex Gordon bringing home his eighth Gold Glove Award on Tuesday (great timing with that news, MLB!) and Salvador Perez honored with his third Silver Slugger Award on Thursday.

Gordon’s eighth and final Gold Glove Award ties him with Frank White for the most Gold Gloves in club history. There are only 13 other outfielders in the history of baseball who have won as many as eight Gold Gloves - Roberto Clemente and Willie Mays (12), Andruw Jones, Ken Griffey, Jr., Al Kaline, Ichiro Suzuki (10), Torii Hunter (9), Barry Bonds, Dwight Evans, Paul Blair, Andre Dawson, Jim Edmonds, and Garry Maddox (8).

Gordon led American League left-fielders in Defensive Runs Above Average, according to Fangraphs, was tops in Outfield Arm Runs, and second in assists. Other finalists in left field include Lourdes Gurriel, Jr. of the Blue Jays and Kyle Tucker of the Astros.

Royals second baseman Nicky Lopez was a finalist for the award at second base for his defensive excellence, but was overlooked in favor of Indians second baseman César Hernández, who won his first Gold Glove.

Five-time Gold Glove catcher Salvador Perez was not a finalist for his defense this year, but he was excellent with the bat and was honored with his third Silver Slugger Award for offensive excellence. Salvy also took home the award in 2016 and 2018. He returned after missing the entire 2019 season following Tommy John surgery to hit .333/.353/.633 with 11 home runs in 37 games. He led all catchers with at least 150 plate appearances in wRC+ by a large margin with 162, and tied with J.T. Realmuto for most home runs by a catcher with 11.

This year’s Gold Gloves were based on a defensive metric known as the SABR Defensive Index. Managers and coaches did not vote this year. You can see a complete list of winners below:

Gold Glove Awards

Catcher - Roberto Perez, Indians (AL), Tucker Barnhart, Reds (NL)

First Base - Evan White, Mariners (AL), Anthony Rizzo, Cubs (NL)

Second Base - César Hernández, Indians (AL), Kolten Wong, Cardinals (NL)

Shortstop - J.P. Crawford, Mariners (AL), Javier Baez, Cubs (NL)

Third Base - Isiah Kiner-Falefa, Rangers (AL), Nolan Arenado, Rockies (NL)

Left Field - Alex Gordon, Royals (AL), Tyler O’Neill, Cardinals (NL)

Center Field - Luis Robert, White Sox (AL), Trent Grisham, Padres (NL)

Right Field - Joey Gallo, Rangers (AL), Mookie Betts, Dodgers (NL)

Pitcher - Griffin Canning, Angels (AL), Max Fried, Braves (NL)

Silver Slugger Awards

Catcher - Salvador Perez, Royals (AL), Travis d’Arnaud, Braves (NL)

First Base - José Abreu, White Sox (AL), Freddie Freeman, Braves (NL)

Second Base - DJ LeMahieu, Yankees (AL), Donovan Solano, Giants (NL)

Shortstop - Tim Anderson, White Sox (AL), Fernando Tatis, Jr., Padres (NL)

Third Base - Jose Ramirez, Indians (AL), Manny Machado, Padres (NL)

Outfield - Mike Trout, Angels; Teoscar Hernández, Blue Jays; Eloy Jiménez, White Sox (AL); Juan Soto, Nationals; Mookie Betts, Dodgers; Ronald Acuña, Jr., Braves (NL)

Designated Hitter - Nelson Cruz, Twins (AL), Marcell Ozuna, Braves (NL)