clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB releases 2021 schedule, Royals to open at home against Texas

New, 8 comments

The Cardinals, Pirates, Brewers, and Reds come to town, and the Royals travel to Wrigley Field.

Chicago White Sox v Kansas City Royals Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Just a few days after releasing the 2020 schedule, Major League Baseball announced the 2021 schedule, with the Royals opening up the season on April 1 at home against the Texas Rangers. It will be the first time they have began the season against a non American League Central Division opponent since 2016, when they opened against the Mets.

The Royals were scheduled to play the National League West Division teams in the original 2020 schedule, but that was scrapped in the revised schedule released earlier this week. The 2021 schedule has the Royals playing National League Central Division teams. The Royals will host the Brewers on May 18-19, the Pirates on May 31-June 1, the Reds on July 5-7, and the Cardinals on August 13-15. They travel to Pittsburgh on April 27-28, Milwaukee on July 20-21, St. Louis on August 6-8, and Wrigley Field in Chicago to play the Cubs August 20-22.

After their season-opening series at home, the Royals travel on the road the next week, playing visitor to the home opener for the Indians and White Sox. They return for a ten-game homestand against the Angels, Blue Jays, and Rays.

The All-Star break takes place July 12-15 with the Midsummer Classic scheduled to take place in Atlanta. They have a tough ten-game home stand in August where they host the Yankees, Cardinals, and Astros. The Royals close out the season October 3 against the Twins.

Game times will be determined at a later date, as will a promotional schedule.

Royals’ 2021 schedule

Date Day Opponent
Date Day Opponent
April 1, 2021 Thursday vs.Rangers
April 2, 2021 Friday OFF
April 3, 2021 Saturday vs.Rangers
April 4, 2021 Sunday vs.Rangers
April 5, 2021 Monday at Indians
April 6, 2021 Tuesday OFF
April 7, 2021 Wednesday at Indians
April 8, 2021 Thursday at White Sox
April 9, 2021 Friday OFF
April 10, 2021 Saturday at White Sox
April 11, 2021 Sunday at White Sox
April 12, 2021 Monday vs.Angels
April 13, 2021 Tuesday vs.Angels
April 14, 2021 Wednesday vs.Angels
April 15, 2021 Thursday vs.Blue Jays
April 16, 2021 Friday vs.Blue Jays
April 17, 2021 Saturday vs.Blue Jays
April 18, 2021 Sunday vs.Blue Jays
April 19, 2021 Monday vs.Rays
April 20, 2021 Tuesday vs.Rays
April 21, 2021 Wednesday vs.Rays
April 22, 2021 Thursday OFF
April 23, 2021 Friday at Tigers
April 24, 2021 Saturday at Tigers
April 25, 2021 Sunday at Tigers
April 26, 2021 Monday at Tigers
April 27, 2021 Tuesday at Pirates
April 28, 2021 Wednesday at Pirates
April 29, 2021 Thursday OFF
April 30, 2021 Friday at Twins
May 1, 2021 Saturday at Twins
May 2, 2021 Sunday at Twins
May 3, 2021 Monday vs.Indians
May 4, 2021 Tuesday vs.Indians
May 5, 2021 Wednesday vs.Indians
May 6, 2021 Thursday vs.Indians
May 7, 2021 Friday vs.White Sox
May 8, 2021 Saturday vs.White Sox
May 9, 2021 Sunday vs.White Sox
May 10, 2021 Monday OFF
May 11, 2021 Tuesday at Tigers
May 12, 2021 Wednesday at Tigers
May 13, 2021 Thursday at Tigers
May 14, 2021 Friday at White Sox
May 15, 2021 Saturday at White Sox
May 16, 2021 Sunday at White Sox
May 17, 2021 Monday OFF
May 18, 2021 Tuesday vs.Brewers
May 19, 2021 Wednesday vs.Brewers
May 20, 2021 Thursday OFF
May 21, 2021 Friday vs.Tigers
May 22, 2021 Saturday vs.Tigers
May 23, 2021 Sunday vs.Tigers
May 24, 2021 Monday OFF
May 25, 2021 Tuesday at Rays
May 26, 2021 Wednesday at Rays
May 27, 2021 Thursday at Rays
May 28, 2021 Friday at Twins
May 29, 2021 Saturday at Twins
May 30, 2021 Sunday at Twins
May 31, 2021 Monday vs.Pirates
June 1, 2021 Tuesday vs.Pirates
June 2, 2021 Wednesday OFF
June 3, 2021 Thursday vs.Twins
June 4, 2021 Friday vs.Twins
June 5, 2021 Saturday vs.Twins
June 6, 2021 Sunday vs.Twins
June 7, 2021 Monday at Angels
June 8, 2021 Tuesday at Angels
June 9, 2021 Wednesday at Angels
June 10, 2021 Thursday at Athletics
June 11, 2021 Friday at Athletics
June 12, 2021 Saturday at Athletics
June 13, 2021 Sunday at Athletics
June 14, 2021 Monday vs.Tigers
June 15, 2021 Tuesday vs.Tigers
June 16, 2021 Wednesday vs.Tigers
June 17, 2021 Thursday OFF
June 18, 2021 Friday vs.Red Sox
June 19, 2021 Saturday vs.Red Sox
June 20, 2021 Sunday vs.Red Sox
June 21, 2021 Monday OFF
June 22, 2021 Tuesday at Yankees
June 23, 2021 Wednesday at Yankees
June 24, 2021 Thursday at Yankees
June 25, 2021 Friday at Rangers
June 26, 2021 Saturday at Rangers
June 27, 2021 Sunday at Rangers
June 28, 2021 Monday at Red Sox
June 29, 2021 Tuesday at Red Sox
June 30, 2021 Wednesday at Red Sox
July 1, 2021 Thursday at Red Sox
July 2, 2021 Friday vs.Twins
July 3, 2021 Saturday vs.Twins
July 4, 2021 Sunday vs.Twins
July 5, 2021 Monday vs.Reds
July 6, 2021 Tuesday vs.Reds
July 7, 2021 Wednesday vs.Reds
July 8, 2021 Thursday at Indians
July 9, 2021 Friday at Indians
July 10, 2021 Saturday at Indians
July 11, 2021 Sunday at Indians
July 12, 2021 Monday OFF
July 13, 2021 Tuesday ALL-STAR GAME
July 14, 2021 Wednesday OFF
July 15, 2021 Thursday OFF
July 16, 2021 Friday vs.Orioles
July 17, 2021 Saturday vs.Orioles
July 18, 2021 Sunday vs.Orioles
July 19, 2021 Monday OFF
July 20, 2021 Tuesday at Brewers
July 21, 2021 Wednesday at Brewers
July 22, 2021 Thursday OFF
July 23, 2021 Friday vs.Tigers
July 24, 2021 Saturday vs.Tigers
July 25, 2021 Sunday vs.Tigers
July 26, 2021 Monday vs.White Sox
July 27, 2021 Tuesday vs.White Sox
July 28, 2021 Wednesday vs.White Sox
July 29, 2021 Thursday vs.White Sox
July 30, 2021 Friday at Blue Jays
July 31, 2021 Saturday at Blue Jays
August 1, 2021 Sunday at Blue Jays
August 2, 2021 Monday OFF
August 3, 2021 Tuesday at White Sox
August 4, 2021 Wednesday at White Sox
August 5, 2021 Thursday at White Sox
August 6, 2021 Friday at Cardinals
August 7, 2021 Saturday at Cardinals
August 8, 2021 Sunday at Cardinals
August 9, 2021 Monday vs.Yankees
August 10, 2021 Tuesday vs.Yankees
August 11, 2021 Wednesday vs.Yankees
August 12, 2021 Thursday OFF
August 13, 2021 Friday vs.Cardinals
August 14, 2021 Saturday vs.Cardinals
August 15, 2021 Sunday vs.Cardinals
August 16, 2021 Monday vs.Astros
August 17, 2021 Tuesday vs.Astros
August 18, 2021 Wednesday vs.Astros
August 19, 2021 Thursday vs.Astros
August 20, 2021 Friday at Cubs
August 21, 2021 Saturday at Cubs
August 22, 2021 Sunday at Cubs
August 23, 2021 Monday at Astros
August 24, 2021 Tuesday at Astros
August 25, 2021 Wednesday at Astros
August 26, 2021 Thursday at Mariners
August 27, 2021 Friday at Mariners
August 28, 2021 Saturday at Mariners
August 29, 2021 Sunday at Mariners
August 30, 2021 Monday OFF
August 31, 2021 Tuesday vs.Indians
September 1, 2021 Wednesday vs.Indians
September 2, 2021 Thursday vs.Indians
September 3, 2021 Friday vs.White Sox
September 4, 2021 Saturday vs.White Sox
September 5, 2021 Sunday vs.White Sox
September 6, 2021 Monday at Orioles
September 7, 2021 Tuesday at Orioles
September 8, 2021 Wednesday at Orioles
September 9, 2021 Thursday at Orioles
September 10, 2021 Friday at Twins
September 11, 2021 Saturday at Twins
September 12, 2021 Sunday at Twins
September 13, 2021 Monday OFF
September 14, 2021 Tuesday vs.Athletics
September 15, 2021 Wednesday vs.Athletics
September 16, 2021 Thursday vs.Athletics
September 17, 2021 Friday vs.Mariners
September 18, 2021 Saturday vs.Mariners
September 19, 2021 Sunday vs.Mariners
September 20, 2021 Monday at Indians
September 21, 2021 Tuesday at Indians
September 22, 2021 Wednesday at Indians
September 23, 2021 Thursday OFF
September 24, 2021 Friday at Tigers
September 25, 2021 Saturday at Tigers
September 26, 2021 Sunday at Tigers
September 27, 2021 Monday OFF
September 28, 2021 Tuesday vs.Indians
September 29, 2021 Wednesday vs.Indians
September 30, 2021 Thursday vs.Indians
October 1, 2021 Friday vs.Twins
October 2, 2021 Saturday vs.Twins
October 3, 2021 Sunday vs.Twins