clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No players elected to Hall of Fame in 2021 class

The induction ceremony will still include the 2020 class.

2014 Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Weekend Photo by Ron Vesely/MLB Photos via Getty Images

The Baseball Writers of America (BBWAA) announced that no candidates on the 2021 ballot were on the requisite 75 percent of ballots for induction into the Hall of Fame. The highest vote-getter was pitcher Curt Schilling, who appeared on 71.6 percent of ballots, and missed being elected by 16 votes. There were 14 blank ballots, the most ever submitted. The BBWAA has had three classes where no candidates were elected to the Hall of Fame - 1971, 1996, and 2013.

Barry Bonds appeared on 61.8 percent of ballots, and Roger Clemens was on 61.6 percent of ballots. Scott Rolen received a big bump in votes, appearing on 52.9 percent of ballots. Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, Todd Helton, and Gary Sheffield all appeared on at least 40 percent of ballots.

Schilling won 216 games with a 3.46 ERA and was known as one of the best post-season pitchers in history, but he hurt his case with extremist views, including approving the idea of lynching reporters. Barry Bonds is the all-time home run leader with 762, and was a seven-time MVP, but allegations of PED use have clouded his career. Pitcher Roger Clemens has faced similar accusations, which has overshadowed his six Cy Young awards and 354 career wins.

Schilling, Bonds, Clemens, and Sammy Sosa will all appear on the ballot next year for the last time. Among the top first-time eligibles on next year’s ballot include Alex Rodriguez, David Ortiz, and Mark Teixiera. Any player that did not appear on at least five percent of ballots will not be on next year’s ballot.

This summer’s induction ceremony will also include last year’s class, which did not get an induction ceremony due to the pandemic. That class includes Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller. The induction ceremony will be held July 25 in Cooperstown.