FanPost

Mike Sweeney on which arm used on appeal play.

On today’s radio broadcast Mike Sweeney said that it mattered which arm the home plate umpire uses on an appeal play, not by the rules but by custom.

He said if the home plate umpire points to the base umpire with his left hand, this means the plate umpire believes the batter struck at the ball. If he points with his right hand that means he does not believe the hitter struck at the ball

I had never heard that before. Is this true or was he goofing us?

There were several appeals after that, but I was driving and couldn’t really follow how it went.

This FanPost was written by a member of the Royals Review community. It does not necessarily reflect the views of the editors and writers of this site.